DC vs KKR Match Report 16

Delhi Capitals (DC) was successful in beating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 18 runs in the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Saturday. 


DC on the batting spot geared up while Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw hit a four each in the first two overs before Shaw hit a four and a six off Pat Cummins in the third over. Shaw then scored his second fifty of the IPL in the 11th over, hitting a six off Kamlesh Nagarkoti. Iyer, too followed suit as DC sailed past 100. The pair then went after Chakravarthy in the 12th over, scoring 16.

KKR, on the other hand, was in a need of a swift start but unfortunately, they lost Sunil Narine in the second over. Nitish Rana hit two sixes off R Ashwin in the third over before Shubman Gill hit a four and a six in the 4th over. Rana and Gill then took KKR close to 60 before the powerplay came to an end.

Finally, after scoring 47 runs across 17th and 18th over, KKR made their target down to 31 runs from the last two overs. However, Nortje, bowling the 19th over, conceded only 5 runs and ended Morgan’s 18-ball 44-run blitz. While Tripathi hit a four off the first ball of the last over, Stoinis and DC managed to limit KKR to 210/8 and won the match by 18 runs gloriously. 

Match Info:

Match:DC vs KKR, 16th Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Saturday, October 03, 2020 

Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah

Umpires: Richard Illingworth, Vineet Kulkarni 

Third Umpire:Chettithody Shamshuddin

Match Referee: Vengalil Narayan Kutty 

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Amit Mishra, Harshal Patel 

Bench:Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohit Sharma, Alex Carey, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Keemo Paul, Tushar Deshpande, Daniel Sams, Lalit Yadav 

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad:

Playing:Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Andre Russell, Eoin Morgan, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy 

Bench:Kuldeep Yadav, Sandeep Warrier, Siddhesh Lad, Nikhil Naik, Chris Green, Prasidh Krishna, Lockie Ferguson, Rinku Singh, Ali Khan, Tom Banton, Manimaran Siddharth

Score Card:


Prithvi Shawc Shubman Gill b Kamlesh Nagarkoti6641160.9744
Shikhar Dhawanc Eoin Morgan b Varun Chakravarthy2616162.522
Shreyas IyerNOT OUT8838231.5776
Rishabh Pantc Shivam Mavi b Andre Russell3817223.5251
Marcus Stoinisc Varun Chakravarthy b Andre Russell1333.3300
Shimron HetmyerNOT OUT7514001
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 2, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)2
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)228
Pat Cummins449012.252
Shivam Mavi340013.332
Varun Chakravarthy449112.256
Sunil Narine2260131
Andre Russell42927.2511
Kamlesh Nagarkoti335111.661


Shubman Gillc Rishabh Pant b Amit Mishra2822127.2721
Sunil Narineb Anrich Nortje356000
Nitish Ranac sub (Axar Patel) b Harshal Patel5835165.7144
Andre Russellc Anrich Nortje b Kagiso Rabada138162.511
Dinesh Karthikc Shikhar Dhawan b Harshal Patel687500
Eoin Morganc Shimron Hetmyer b Anrich Nortje4418244.4415
Pat Cumminsc Harshal Patel b Anrich Nortje5412510
Rahul Tripathib Marcus Stoinis361622533
Kamlesh NagarkotiNOT OUT3310000
Shivam MaviNOT OUT1333.3300
EXTRAS(nb 2, w 5, b 4, lb 2, pen 0)13
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)210
Kagiso Rabada451112.758
Anrich Nortje43338.2511
Ravichandran Ashwin2260131
Marcus Stoinis446111.56
Harshal Patel43428.57
Amit Mishra214175