MI Vs CSK – Match Report 1

Chennai Super Kings bagged the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 campaign with a five-wicket win against Mumbai Indians (MI) on Saturday in Abu Dhabi.

For CSK, this match was an undoubtedly a notable one with MS Dhoni 100th IPL win as a proud captain. The match began with Ambati Rayudu as the batsman where Lungi Ngidi headed with three wickets.

On the other hand, Mumbai Indians kick-started the match with a bang! The MI openers hit a four each in the first over bowled by Deepak Chahar. Further, the MI wicketkeeper-batsman continued to score at a rapid pace to power his team to 45/0 at the end of four overs.

Nevertheless, CSK managed to pull their gears well with two runs as Piyush Chawala and Curran dismissed Rohit and de Kock in the last two overs of the powerplay. Saurabh Tiwary and Suryakumar Yadav then added 44 runs together before Chahar got the MI right-hander out in the 11th over.

While both CSK and MI were quite alert and cautious in their approach and never missed on the scoring opportunities to keep the scorecard increasing. It was then Rayudu who brought up his fifty-first half-century of the season – in the 12th over before CSK crossed the 100-run mark.

Finally, Curran hit Jasprit Bumrah for a six before getting out following his 6-ball 18-run cameo.  du Plessis scored up a fifty and fastened CSK’s win by hitting a four!

Match Information

Match:MI vs CSK, 1st Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Saturday, September 19, 2020

Toss:Chennai Super Kings won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Umpires:Chris Gaffaney, Virender Sharma

Third Umpire:Sundaram Ravi

Match Referee:Manu Nayyar

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing: Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Chennai Super Kings Squad:

Playing: Murali Vijay, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Lungi Ngidi

Score Card

Mumbai Indians Inning

Rohit Sharmac Sam Curran b Piyush Chawla121012020
Quinton de Kockc Shane Watson b Sam Curran332016550
Suryakumar Yadavc Sam Curran b Deepak Chahar1716106.2520
Saurabh Tiwaryc Faf du Plessis b Ravindra Jadeja4231135.4831
Hardik Pandyac Faf du Plessis b Ravindra Jadeja141014002
Kieron Pollardc MS Dhoni b Lungi Ngidi1814128.5711
Krunal Pandyac MS Dhoni b Lungi Ngidi3310000
James Pattinsonc Faf du Plessis b Lungi Ngidi118137.520
Rahul ChaharNOT OUT245000
Trent Boultb Deepak Chahar01000
Jasprit BumrahNOT OUT53166.6600
Extras(nb 0, w 4, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)5
Total(9 wickets; 20 overs)162
Deepak Chahar432287
Sam Curran428179
Lungi Ngidi43839.58
Piyush Chawla42115.2511
Ravindra Jadeja442210.55

CSK Innings

Murali Vijaylbw James Pattinson1714.2800
Shane Watsonlbw Trent Boult458010
Faf du PlessisNOT OUT5844131.8160
Ambati Rayuduc & b Rahul Chahar7148147.9163
Ravindra Jadejalbw Krunal Pandya10520020
Sam Curranc James Pattinson b Jasprit Bumrah18630012
MS DhoniNOT OUT02000
Extras(nb 1, w 3, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)4
Total(5 wickets; 19.2 overs)166
Trent Boult3.22316.912
James Pattinson42716.7510
Jasprit Bumrah443110.7510
Krunal Pandya43719.252
Rahul Chahar436192