KXIP vs MI Match Report 13

Mumbai Indians (MI) beat Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) by 48 runs in the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

The match began on a delightful note with MI skipper Rohit Sharma completing 5000 IPL runs. KXIP picked up their second wicket, via run-out in the 4th over as Mohammed Shami’s direct-hit cut short Suryakumar Yadav’s innings. Further, Ishan Kishan, who had scored a whirlwind 99 in MI’s last game against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), then joined Rohit in the middle.

MI though kept the best for the last, K Gowtham had to bear it all as MI hammered 25 in the last over. While it was Hardik, who hit a six on the first ball of the final over, Pollard, who was coming into this game on the back of his 24-ball 60*-blitz against RCB, hit three sixes on the last three deliveries as MI posted 191/4 on the board.

Needing 192 runs to win, Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul hit a four each. Later, Pooran and Glenn Maxwell added 41 runs together, with the left-hander doing the majority of the scoring, but the two got out in the successive overs. While Pattinson dismissed Pooran, Chahar got Maxwell out in the 14th over. Neesham was the next man to get out as Bumrah picked his second wicket of the match. It was when K Gowtham played a few shots, MI confirmed its 48-run win by adding two more points to their account. Well, it was truly a mesmerising watch!

Match Info:

Match:KXIP vs MI, 13th Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Thursday, October 01, 2020 

Toss: Kings XI Punjab won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Umpires: Virender Sharma, Sundaram Ravi 

Third Umpire:Ulhas Gandhe

Match Referee: Manu Nayyar 

Kings XI Punjab Squad:

Playing:Lokesh Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, James Neesham, Sarfaraz Khan, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell, Ravi Bishnoi

 Bench:Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Chris Jordan, Deepak Hooda, Hardus Viljoen, Jagadeesha Suchith, Ishan Porel, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Tajinder Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Arshdeep Singh, Simran Singh, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin 

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing:Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah 

Bench:Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Sherfane Rutherford, Jayant Yadav, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai

Score Card

Mumbai Indians Innings

Quinton de Kockb Sheldon Cottrell05000
Rohit Sharmac Jimmy Neesham b Mohammad Shami7045155.5583
Suryakumar Yadavrun out (Mohammad Shami)107142.8520
Ishan Kishanc Karun Nair b Krishnappa Gowtham283287.511
Kieron PollardNOT OUT472023534
Hardik PandyaNOT OUT3011272.7232
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 5, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)6
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)191
Sheldon Cottrell4201514
Mohammad Shami436199
Ravi Bishnoi43709.258
Krishnappa Gowtham445111.256
Jimmy Neesham4520134

Kings XI Punjab Innings

KL Rahulb Rahul Chahar171989.4710
Mayank Agarwalb Jasprit Bumrah2518138.8830
Karun Nairb Krunal Pandya03000
Nicholas Pooranc Quinton de Kock b James Pattinson4427162.9632
Glenn Maxwellc Trent Boult b Rahul Chahar111861.1100
Jimmy Neeshamc Suryakumar Yadav b Jasprit Bumrah7710000
Sarfaraz Khanlbw James Pattinson7887.510
Krishnappa GowthamNOT OUT2213169.2321
Ravi Bishnoic Suryakumar Yadav b Trent Boult152000
Mohammad ShamiNOT OUT2210000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 5, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)7
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)143
Trent Boult442110.55
James Pattinson428277
Krunal Pandya42716.759
Jasprit Bumrah41824.513
Rahul Chahar42626.59