RCB vs RR Match Report 15

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) made their third win in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 after they beat Rajasthan Royals (RR) by eight wickets at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Saturday.


Deciding to bat, RR lost their top three – Steve Smith, Jos Buttler and Sanju Samson in the powerplay. Isuru Udana struck in the third over as RR skipper chopped one onto the stumps. RR further lost Sanju Samson in the fifth over as Yuzvendra Chahal struck for the first time in the match. On the other hand, Robin Uthappa and Mahipal Lomror, playing his first game of the season, then added 39 runs together before the former was holed out in the deep off Chahal’s bowling in the 11th over.

With 155 runs to win, RCB were quick off the blocks, scoring 20 off the first two overs, with Aaron Finch hitting a four and Devdutt Padikkal hitting a four and a six. Kohli then hit a four and a six off Riyan Parag to move into the 40s before raising his bat for his first fifty of the IPL 2020 as RCB moved closer to 120 at the end of the 15th over. 

Finally, RCB scored 16 off the 18th over bowled by Tom Curran, with Kohli hit three fours before completing 5500 IPL runs. AB de Villiers then hit a four on the first ball of the last over as RCB recorded their third win meticulously.

Match Info:

Match:RCB vs RR, 15th Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Saturday, October 03, 2020 

Toss: Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opt to bat

Time:3:30 PM

Venue:Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney, Sundaram Ravi 

Third Umpire:Pashchim Pathak

Match Referee: Manu Nayyar

 Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad:

Playing:Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers (wk), Shivam Dube, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Washington Sundar, Isuru Udana, Navdeep Saini, Adam Zampa, Yuzvendra Chahal 

Bench:Umesh Yadav, Dale Steyn, Parthiv Patel, Moeen Ali, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Pavan Deshpande, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Philippe, Shahbaz Ahmed 

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Jos Buttler (wk), Steven Smith (c), Sanju Samson, Robin Uthappa, Mahipal Lomror, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Tom Curran, Shreyas Gopal, Jofra Archer, Jaydev Unadkat 

Bench:David Miller, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Varun Aaron, Aniruddha Joshi, Manan Vohra, Andrew Tye, Shashank Singh, Oshane Thomas, Mayank Markande, Anuj Rawat, Kartik Tyagi, Akash Singh, Ankit Rajpoot

Score Card:


Jos Buttlerc Devdutt Padikkal b Navdeep Saini2212183.3331
Steve Smithb Isuru Udana5510010
Sanju Samsonc & b Yuzvendra Chahal43133.3310
Robin Uthappac Isuru Udana b Yuzvendra Chahal172277.2710
Mahipal Lomrorc Devdutt Padikkal b Yuzvendra Chahal4739120.5113
Riyan Paragc Aaron Finch b Isuru Udana161888.8810
Rahul TewatiaNOT OUT241220003
Jofra ArcherNOT OUT161016011
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 1, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)3
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)154
Isuru Udana441210.258
Washington Sundar420058
Navdeep Saini43719.2510
Yuzvendra Chahal4243610
Adam Zampa327093
Shivam Dube14042


Devdutt Padikkalb Jofra Archer634514061
Aaron Finchlbw Shreyas Gopal87114.2820
Virat KohliNOT OUT7253135.8472
AB de VilliersNOT OUT121012010
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 2, b 1, lb 0, pen 0)3
TOTAL(2 wickets; 19.1 overs)158
Jofra Archer41814.515
Jaydev Unadkat331010.333
Shreyas Gopal42716.755
Tom Curran3.140012.633
Rahul Tewatia428077
Riyan Parag1130133