DC vs KXIP – Match Report 2

This IPL match was truly gripping with Delhi Capitals beating Kings XI Punjab with all vigour and zeal at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

Although KXIP was super-watchful in the beginning scoring 30 off 26 balls, DC scaled 4 wickets for 5 runs. Mohit Sharma castled Rahul for 21. Further, R Ashwin dismissed Karun Nair and Nicholas Pooran. However, Ashwin, unfortunately, injured his shoulder on the final ball of the same over and had to walk away from the field. Meanwhile, KXIP lost one more wicket and Sarfaraz Khan left soon after his side crossed the fifty-run mark.

KXIP were in need of 25 runs in the last 2 overs and Mayank was almost successful. However, with the scores tied and KXIP required to score 1 off 2 balls, Mayank, after scoring 89, got out on the penultimate ball of the final over. It was Stoinis who dismissed Chris Jordan as Rabada held on to a catch at short square-leg to push the game into the Super Over.

The twist in the match was brought about by Stoinis and he made it best! The Australian all-rounder made an all-out attack, hammering 53 off 21 balls, with the help of 7 fours and 3 sixes. He was eventually run-out in the final over, but not before he hit 2 fours and as many sixes to take his team to 157/8. That was indeed a proud moment for DC!

Match Information

Match: DC vs KXIP, 2nd Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date: Sunday, September 20, 2020

Toss:  Kings XI Punjab won the toss and opt to bowl

Time: 7:30 PM

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium , Dubai 

Umpires: Nitin Menon, Anil Chaudhary

Third Umpire: Paul Reiffel

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath

Delhi Capitals Squad

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Mohit SharmaBenchSandeep Lamichhane, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Harshal Patel, Alex Carey, Avesh Khan, Tushar Deshpande, Daniel Sams, Lalit Yadav, Keemo Paul

Kings XI Punjab Squad

Lokesh Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Nicholas Pooran, Sarfaraz Khan, Glenn Maxwell, Krishnappa Gowtham, Chris Jordan, Sheldon Cottrell, Mohammed Shami, Ravi BishnoiBenchChris Gayle, Deepak Hooda, Mandeep Singh, James Neesham, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Murugan Ashwin, Hardus Viljoen, Ishan Porel, Tajinder Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Arshdeep Singh, Simran Singh, Harpreet Brar

Score Card


Prithvi Shawc Chris Jordan b Mohammad Shami5955.5510
Shikhar Dhawanrun out (KL Rahul)02000
Shimron Hetmyerc Mayank Agarwal b Mohammad Shami71353.8410
Shreyas Iyerc Chris Jordan b Mohammad Shami3932121.8703
Rishabh Pantb Ravi Bishnoi3129106.8940
Marcus Stoinisrun out (Nicholas Pooran)5321252.3873
Axar Patelc KL Rahul b Sheldon Cottrell6966.6600
Ravichandran Ashwinc Mohammad Shami b Sheldon Cottrell4666.6600
Kagiso RabadaNOT OUT00000
Anrich NortjeNOT OUT3130000
EXTRAS(nb 2, w 6, b 1, lb 0, pen 0)9
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)157
Sheldon Cottrell4242613
Mohammad Shami41533.7515
Chris Jordan4560148
Krishnappa Gowtham43909.755
Ravi Bishnoi42215.59


KL Rahulb Mohit Sharma2119110.5221
Mayank Agarwalc Shimron Hetmyer b Marcus Stoinis8960148.3374
Karun Nairc Prithvi Shaw b Ravichandran Ashwin1333.3300
Nicholas Pooranb Ravichandran Ashwin03000
Glenn Maxwellc Shreyas Iyer b Kagiso Rabada142500
Sarfaraz Khanc Prithvi Shaw b Axar Patel121210020
Krishnappa Gowthamc Rishabh Pant b Kagiso Rabada2014142.8511
Chris Jordanc Kagiso Rabada b Marcus Stoinis5683.3300
Mohammad ShamiNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 1, b 0, lb 6, pen 0)8
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)157
Anrich Nortje43308.2511
Mohit Sharma445111.257
Kagiso Rabada4282710
Ravichandran Ashwin12224
Axar Patel41413.511
Marcus Stoinis32929.666