MI vs RR Match Report 20

Mumbai Indians (MI) made a hat-trick of wins after they beat Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 57 runs at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday. The match was undoubtedly energising with both teams playing with full vigour and strength. 

Choosing to bat, MI made their stand as Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock hit a four each in the first over bowled by Ankit Rajpoot. Further, Rohit targeted Rajpoot in the third over, hitting a six and a four. MI finally ended the powerplay with 57 runs on the board, losing a wicket.

On the other hand, RR lost their fourth wicket as soon as Anukul Roy made an outstanding catch to get Mahipal Lomror out. The substitute fielder ran backwards from the extra cover position and leapt forward to complete the catch. While the wickets fell at another end, it was Jos Buttler who kept RR hopeful. Buttler added 26 in the next 10 balls he faced to move past fifty in the 11th over. The next two overs saw Buttler hit two sixes and a four as RR moved closer to 100 by the end of 13 overs.

RR lost Curran in the 15th over before Bumrah scalped two wickets in the 16th over, dismissing Rahul Tewatia and Shreyas Gopal. Bumrah then picked his fourth wicket of the match to end Archer’s 11-ball 24-run cameo. James Pattinson ended the RR innings, dismissing Rajpoot, as MI recorded their fourth win of this IPL season 

Match Info:

Match:MI vs RR, 20th Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Tuesday, October 06, 2020 

Toss: Mumbai Indians won the toss and opt to bat

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Umpires: Virender Sharma, Sundaram Ravi 

Third Umpire:Chris Gaffaney

Match Referee: Shakti Singh 

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing:Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah 

Bench:Saurabh Tiwary, Chris Lynn, Dhawal Kulkarni, Aditya Tare, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jayant Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Sherfane Rutherford, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai 

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Jos Buttler (wk), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Steven Smith (c), Sanju Samson, Mahipal Lomror, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Tom Curran, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Kartik Tyagi 

Bench:David Miller, Varun Aaron, Manan Vohra, Andrew Tye, Oshane Thomas, Mayank Markande, Aniruddha Joshi, Shashank Singh, Anuj Rawat, Akash Singh, Jaydev Unadkat, Riyan Parag, Robin Uthappa

Score Card:


Quinton de Kockc Jos Buttler b Kartik Tyagi2315153.3331
Rohit Sharmac Rahul Tewatia b Shreyas Gopal3523152.1723
Suryakumar YadavNOT OUT7947168.08112
Ishan Kishanc Sanju Samson b Shreyas Gopal01000
Krunal Pandyac Shreyas Gopal b Jofra Archer121770.5801
Hardik PandyaNOT OUT3019157.8921
EXTRAS(nb 2, w 5, b 5, lb 2, pen 0)14
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)193
Ankit Rajpoot3420145
Shreyas Gopal4282711
Jofra Archer43418.511
Kartik Tyagi436198
Tom Curran3330115
Rahul Tewatia21306.54


Yashasvi Jaiswalc Quinton de Kock b Trent Boult02000
Jos Buttlerc Kieron Pollard b James Pattinson7044159.0945
Steve Smithc Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah6785.7110
Sanju Samsonc Rohit Sharma b Trent Boult03000
Mahipal Lomrorc sub (Anukul Roy) b Rahul Chahar111384.6110
Tom Curranc Hardik Pandya b Kieron Pollard151693.7510
Rahul Tewatiab Jasprit Bumrah5683.3310
Jofra Archerc Kieron Pollard b Jasprit Bumrah2411218.1831
Shreyas Gopalc Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah125000
Ankit Rajpootc Rohit Sharma b James Pattinson254000
Kartik TyagiNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 1, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)2
TOTAL(All out; 18.1 overs)136
Trent Boult42626.512
Jasprit Bumrah4204514
James Pattinson3.119269
Rahul Chahar324186
Krunal Pandya2220112
Kieron Pollard2241123