KXIP vs KKR Match Report 24

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) made their record for the second time in a row by making a two-run win, beating Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Saturday.

With KKR electing to bat, they lost Rahul Tripathi in the third over. On the other hand, KXIP picked their second wicket in the next over following a mix-up between Nitish Rana and Shubman Gill. KKR was trying their best to gain some stability and were successful in adding 49 runs together before Morgan was holed out for 24 at long-on off Ravi Bishnoi’s bowling in the 11th over.

Further, KKR added 18 runs in their quota of 20 overs. Two over later, KL Rahul hit two successive fours, and Mayank marked up their fifties as KXIP continued their chase in full spirit.

KKR managed to break the Mayank-Rahul partnership in the 15th over as he dismissed Mayank for 59.

Finally, KXIP needed 14 off the last over and Narine was handed over the responsibility to bowl. While KXIP could only score 2 off the first two balls, Glenn Maxwell hit a four off the third to bring down the target to 8 from 3 balls. While Maxwell played really well, the ball landed just before the boundary rope for four and KKR won the game by 2 runs.  

Match Info:

Match:KXIP vs KKR, 24th Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Saturday, October 10, 2020 

Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and opt to bat

Time:3:30 PM

Venue:Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney, Ulhas Gandhe 

Third Umpire:Virender SharmaMatch Referee: Manu Nayyar 

Kings XI Punjab Squad:

Playing:KL Rahul (c), Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Simran Singh (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Chris Jordan, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

 Bench:Sarfaraz Khan, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin, Hardus Viljoen, Krishnappa Gowtham, James Neesham, Karun Nair, Chris Gayle, Deepak Hooda, Jagadeesha Suchith, Ishan Porel, Tajinder Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Sheldon Cottrell 

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad:

Playing:Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy 

Bench:Kuldeep Yadav, Sandeep Warrier, Siddhesh Lad, Nikhil Naik, Chris Green, Lockie Ferguson, Rinku Singh, Ali Khan, Tom Banton, Manimaran Siddharth, Shivam Mavi

Score Card:


Rahul Tripathib Mohammad Shami4104010
Shubman Gillrun out (Mandeep Singh)5747121.2750
Nitish Ranarun out (Nicholas Pooran)245000
Eoin Morganc Glenn Maxwell b Ravi Bishnoi2423104.3421
Dinesh Karthikrun out (Nicholas Pooran)582920082
Andre Russellc Simran Singh b Arshdeep Singh53166.6610
Pat CumminsNOT OUT5412500
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 6, b 1, lb 2, pen 0)9
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)164
Mohammad Shami43017.511
Arshdeep Singh42516.2515
Chris Jordan43709.258
Mujeeb Ur Rahman4440116
Ravi Bishnoi42516.257


KL Rahulb Prasidh Krishna7458127.5860
Mayank Agarwalc Shubman Gill b Prasidh Krishna5639143.5861
Nicholas Pooranb Sunil Narine161016021
Simran Singhc Nitish Rana b Prasidh Krishna4757.1400
Glenn MaxwellNOT OUT10520020
Mandeep Singhc sub (Chris Green) b Sunil Narine01000
Chris JordanNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 0, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)2
TOTAL(5 wickets; 20 overs)162
Pat Cummins42907.256
Prasidh Krishna42937.2512
Kamlesh Nagarkoti340013.332
Varun Chakravarthy42706.755
Sunil Narine428279
Nitish Rana17070