DC vs CSK Match Report 34

Delhi Capitals (DC) beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by five wickets in Match 34 of the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 in Sharjah on Saturday.

DC vs CSK  Match Report 34

DC lost Prithvi Shaw’s wicket in the first over after Deepak Chahar completed a caught and bowled dismissal. Dhawan was joined by Shreyas Iyer in the fifth over and the pair scored 12 in the final over of the powerplay, with Iyer hitting a six and Dhawan hit a four to take DC to 42/2.

CSK managed to break the 68-run partnership between Dhawan and Iyer when Dwayne Bravo dismissed the DC skipper for 21. DC crossed the 100-run mark in the 13th over after Marcus Stoinis hit a six and a four off Karn Sharma. Meanwhile, Dhawan moved closer to 80, hitting two fours in the next two overs. 

Further, Ambati Rayudu scored at a rapid pace and moved to 34 off 18 balls, DC picked their fourth wicket as Nortje dismissed MS Dhoni. CSK were 134/4 after the end of the 17th over and needed some big hits to end the innings on a high. Ravindra Jadeja was successful in doing that. The left-hander hit as many as four sixes in the last three overs while Rayudu hit one more as CSK scored 45 runs in the last three overs. Finally, Jadeja remained unbeaten on 33 off 13 balls, Rayudu scored 45 not out from 25 deliveries and made CSK super-proud. 

Match Info:

Match:DC vs CSK, 34th Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Saturday, October 17, 2020 

Toss: Chennai Super Kings won the toss and opt to bat

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah

Umpires: Richard Illingworth, KN Anantha Padmanabhan 

Third Umpire:Chettithody Shamshuddin

Match Referee: Vengalil Narayan Kutty 

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (c), Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Tushar Deshpande, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje 

Bench:Harshal Patel, Mohit Sharma, Avesh Khan, Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant, Sandeep Lamichhane, Keemo Paul, Daniel Sams, Lalit Yadav 

Chennai Super Kings Squad:

Playing:Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma 

Bench:Piyush Chawla, Murali Vijay, Josh Hazlewood, Imran Tahir, Lungi Ngidi, Monu Kumar, Mitchell Santner, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, N Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KM Asif

Score Card:


Sam Curranc Anrich Nortje b Tushar Deshpande03000
Faf du Plessisc Shikhar Dhawan b Kagiso Rabada5847123.462
Shane Watsonb Anrich Nortje3628128.5760
Ambati RayuduNOT OUT452518014
MS Dhonic Alex Carey b Anrich Nortje356000
Ravindra JadejaNOT OUT3313253.8404
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 3, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)4
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)179
Tushar Deshpande43919.759
Kagiso Rabada43318.2512
Axar Patel42305.755
Anrich Nortje44421110
Ravichandran Ashwin3300105
Marcus Stoinis1100101


Prithvi Shawc & b Deepak Chahar02000
Shikhar DhawanNOT OUT10158174.13141
Ajinkya Rahanec Sam Curran b Deepak Chahar8108010
Shreyas Iyerc Faf du Plessis b Dwayne Bravo232310011
Marcus Stoinisc Ambati Rayudu b Shardul Thakur2414171.4212
Alex Careyc Faf du Plessis b Sam Curran4757.1400
Axar PatelNOT OUT21542003
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 3, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)4
TOTAL(5 wickets; 19.5 overs)185
Deepak Chahar41824.510
Sam Curran43518.7510
Shardul Thakur43919.755
Ravindra Jadeja1.535019.090
Karn Sharma334011.333
Dwayne Bravo32317.664