MI vs KXIP Match Report 36

The match was indeed a complete package of drama and action when Mumbai Indians (MI) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) played out two Super Overs before the latter was victorious in winning the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

MI vs KXIP  Match Report 36

The scores of both the teams were tied at 176 in the 20 overs/side contest, the game headed into the first Super Over. KXIP batted first with KL Rahul, Nicholas Pooran and Deepak Hooda sharing the batting responsibilities. Needing 6 runs to win, MI progressed with Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock while KXIP picked Mohammad Shami to defend five runs. While the two put up a 58-run stand, they got out in the space of 20 runs. However, Pollard and Nathan Coulter-Nile hammered 54 runs in the last three overs, with Pollard scoring an unbeaten 34 off 12 balls and Coulter-Nile chipping in with 24 not out of 12.

Mayank survived a few close calls before Rahul cut loose in the third over, hitting three fours and a six off Trent Boult. While Rahul continued his ways to take KXIP past fifty in the powerplay, KXIP lost Mayank and Gayle before the halfway stage of the chase.

Further, Rahul and Pooran then added 33 runs together. But MI struck twice in quick succession to dismiss Pooran and Glenn Maxwell. Although Rahul brought up yet another half-century of the season, Bumrah, in the 18th over, dished out a perfect yorker to get Rahul out for 77. Well, it was Hooda and Jordan who made sure that KXIP stayed in the hunt before the latter got out on the final ball, with scores levelled.  

Match Info:

Match:MI vs KXIP, 36th Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Sunday, October 18, 2020 

Toss: Mumbai Indians won the toss and opt to bat

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Dubai International Cricket Stadium , Dubai

Umpires: Paul Reiffel, Nitin Menon 

Third Umpire:Anil Chaudhary

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath 

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing:Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah 

Bench:Dhawal Kulkarni, Saurabh Tiwary, James Pattinson, Aditya Tare, Mitchell McClenaghan, Chris Lynn, Jayant Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Sherfane Rutherford, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai 

Kings XI Punjab Squad:

Playing:KL Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh 

Bench:Karun Nair, Krishnappa Gowtham, James Neesham, Sheldon Cottrell, Hardus Viljoen, Jagadeesha Suchith, Ishan Porel, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Tajinder Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Simran Singh, Harpreet Brar, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh

Score Card:


Rohit Sharmab Arshdeep Singh98112.520
Quinton de Kockc Mayank Agarwal b Chris Jordan5343123.2533
Suryakumar Yadavc Murugan Ashwin b Mohammad Shami04000
Ishan Kishanc Murugan Ashwin b Arshdeep Singh7710010
Krunal Pandyac Deepak Hooda b Ravi Bishnoi3430113.3341
Hardik Pandyac Nicholas Pooran b Mohammad Shami8420001
Kieron PollardNOT OUT3412283.3314
Nathan Coulter-NileNOT OUT241220040
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 1, b 4, lb 2, pen 0)7
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)176
Glenn Maxwell424069
Mohammad Shami43027.512
Arshdeep Singh335211.668
Chris Jordan332110.666
Murugan Ashwin32809.337
Deepak Hooda19092
Ravi Bishnoi212165


KL Rahulb Jasprit Bumrah7751150.9873
Mayank Agarwalb Jasprit Bumrah111011010
Chris Gaylec Trent Boult b Rahul Chahar2421114.2812
Nicholas Pooranc Nathan Coulter-Nile b Jasprit Bumrah241220022
Glenn Maxwellc Rohit Sharma b Rahul Chahar02000
Deepak HoodaNOT OUT2316143.7511
Chris Jordanrun out (Kieron Pollard)138162.520
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 4, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)4
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)176
Trent Boult4480126
Krunal Pandya212065
Jasprit Bumrah4243612
Nathan Coulter-Nile43308.259
Kieron Pollard2260133
Rahul Chahar43328.259


KL Rahullbw Jasprit Bumrah4410000
Nicholas Pooranc sub (Anukul Roy) b Jasprit Bumrah01000
Deepak HoodaNOT OUT1110000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 0, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)
TOTAL(2 wickets)5
Jasprit Bumrah15252


Quinton de Kockrun out (Nicholas Pooran)3310000
Rohit SharmaNOT OUT2366.6600
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 0, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)
TOTAL(1 wickets)5
Mohammad Shami15051