KXIP vs DC Match Report 38

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) made their third win after they beat Delhi Capitals (DC) by five wickets in the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 in Dubai on Tuesday. 

 KXIP vs DC  Match Report 38

Requiring 165 runs to win, KXIP lost their first wicket in the third over as KL Rahul got out for 15 in the third over off Axar Patel’s bowling. DC kept things really intact as KXIP could score not more than 24 in the first four overs. On the other hand, Chris Gayle opened his shoulders and hammered three fours and two sixes in the fifth over bowled by Tushar Deshpande to take KXIP to fifty.

Further, DC introduced R Ashwin in the attack in the final over of the powerplay and it worked wonders as he got Gayle out for 29. DC then struck for the second time in the over as Mayank Agarwal was run-out following a mix-up with Nicholas Pooran. 

KXIP moved past 100 in the 10th over as Pooran, continuing his big-hitting ways, targeted Marcus Stoinis, hitting a four and a six. The Pooran-Maxwell duo completed the fifty-run partnership in the 11th over. A few overs later, Pooran brought up his half-century but got out in the same over after edging one to Rishabh Pant off Kagiso Rabada’s bowling.

Finally, Dhawan made history as he became the first batsman to score two successive IPL hundreds. The left-hander, who had scored a ton in DC’s last game against Chennai Super Kings, brought up his hundred in 57 balls. DC eventually posted 164/5 on the board, with Dhawan scoring 106 off 61 balls, hitting 12 fours and 3 sixes. 

Match Info:

Match:KXIP vs DC, 38th Match, Indian Premier League 2020

Date:Tuesday, October 20, 2020 

Toss: Delhi Capitals won the toss and opt to bat

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Dubai International Cricket Stadium , Dubai

Umpires: Richard Illingworth, Chettithody Shamshuddin 

Third Umpire:KN Anantha Padmanabhan 

Match Referee: Prakash Bhatt

Kings XI Punjab Squad:

Playing:KL Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, James Neesham, Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh 

Bench:Mandeep Singh, Karun Nair, Krishnappa Gowtham, Sheldon Cottrell, Sarfaraz Khan, Hardus Viljoen, Jagadeesha Suchith, Ishan Porel, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Tajinder Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Simran Singh, Harpreet Brar, Chris Jordan 

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Daniel Sams, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Tushar Deshpande 

Bench:Harshal Patel, Mohit Sharma, Avesh Khan, Praveen Dubey, Sandeep Lamichhane, Keemo Paul, Lalit Yadav, Alex Carey, Ajinkya Rahane, Anrich Nortje

Score Card:


Prithvi Shawc Glenn Maxwell b Jimmy Neesham71163.6310
Shikhar DhawanNOT OUT10661173.77123
Shreyas Iyerc KL Rahul b Murugan Ashwin1412116.6601
Rishabh Pantc Mayank Agarwal b Glenn Maxwell14207010
Marcus Stoinisc Mayank Agarwal b Mohammad Shami9109000
Shimron Hetmyerb Mohammad Shami106166.6601
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 3, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)4
TOTAL(5 wickets; 20 overs)164
Glenn Maxwell43117.755
Mohammad Shami4282712
Arshdeep Singh3300104
Jimmy Neesham21718.54
Murugan Ashwin43318.255
Ravi Bishnoi324085


KL Rahulc Daniel Sams b Axar Patel1511136.3611
Mayank Agarwalrun out (Ravichandran Ashwin)5955.5500
Chris Gayleb Ravichandran Ashwin2913223.0732
Nicholas Pooranc Rishabh Pant b Kagiso Rabada5328189.2863
Glenn Maxwellc Rishabh Pant b Kagiso Rabada3224133.3330
Deepak HoodaNOT OUT152268.1810
Jimmy NeeshamNOT OUT10812501
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 6, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)8
TOTAL(5 wickets; 19 overs)167
Daniel Sams43007.510
Kagiso Rabada42726.759
Axar Patel42716.758
Tushar Deshpande241020.52
Ravichandran Ashwin42716.759
Marcus Stoinis1140142