CSK vs DC Match Report 7

It was Delhi Capitals (DC) again who recorded their second win in the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 as they beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 44 runs at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday.


CSK made one change to their playing, bringing in Josh Hazlewood in place of Lungi Ngidi, who won the toss. It was Prithvi Shaw who set the ball rolling for DC, hitting two fours in the first over bowled by Deepak Chahar. CSK badly needed a breakthrough and Chawla provided them with one, dismissing Dhawan in the 11th over. The leg-spinner struck one more time as Shaw was stumped. Nevertheless, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant joined forces in the middle following Shaw’s dismissal in the 13th over and added 58 runs in total. 

Finally, Faf du Plessis and Kedar Jadhav put up a 54-run stand for the next wicket and this made CSK hope for the best. However, Nortje got Jadhav out LBW in the 16th over.

While du Plessis enjoyed a couple of reprieves, but he was eventually dismissed for 43 by Kagiso Rabada in the 18th over. 

With CSK requiring 55 in the last two overs,  DC was successful in hitting 10 solid runs in the last two overs and successfully sealed 44-run thus making it their second consecutive win. 

Match Info

Match: CSK vs DC, 7th Match, Indian Premier League 2020 

Date: Friday, September 25, 2020 

Toss: Chennai Super Kings won the toss and opt to bowl 

Time: 7:30 PM 

Venue:  Dubai International Cricket Stadium , Dubai 

Umpires: Richard Illingworth, KN Anantha Padmanabhan 

Third Umpire: Krishnamachari Srinivasan 

Match Referee: Vengalil Narayan Kutty 

Chennai Super Kings Squad

Murali Vijay, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Piyush Chawla, Josh Hazlewood, Deepak Chahar 

Delhi Capitals Squad

Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan 


DC Innings

Prithvi Shawst MS Dhoni b Piyush Chawla6443148.8391
Shikhar Dhawanlbw Piyush Chawla3527129.6231
Rishabh PantNOT OUT372514850
Shreyas Iyerc MS Dhoni b Sam Curran2622118.1810
Marcus StoinisNOT OUT53166.6610
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 3, b 0, lb 5, pen 0)8
TOTAL(3 wickets; 20 overs)175
Deepak Chahar43809.54
Sam Curran42716.7510
Josh Hazlewood4280710
Piyush Chawla43328.258
Ravindra Jadeja4440114

CSK Innings

Murali Vijayc Kagiso Rabada b Anrich Nortje101566.6610
Shane Watsonc Shimron Hetmyer b Axar Patel141687.511
Faf du Plessisc Rishabh Pant b Kagiso Rabada4335122.8540
Ruturaj Gaikwadrun out (Rishabh Pant)5105000
Kedar Jadhavlbw Anrich Nortje2621123.830
MS Dhonic Rishabh Pant b Kagiso Rabada151212520
Ravindra Jadejac Amit Mishra b Kagiso Rabada129133.3310
Sam CurranNOT OUT125000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 4, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)5
TOTAL(7 wickets; 20 overs)131
Kagiso Rabada42636.511
Axar Patel41814.510
Anrich Nortje42125.2512
Avesh Khan442010.57
Amit Mishra42305.756