KKR vs SRH Match Report 8

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was successful in securing two points with a seven-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the eighth IPL match of the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 in Abu Dhabi on Saturday.

The match was no doubt exciting with KKR needing 43 runs to win. But KKR lost Sunil Narine in the second over as David Warner held onto a catch off Khaleel Ahmed’s bowling. Nitish Rana and Gill, though, scored at a rapid pace, taking on SRH swiftly.


Later, Gill and Morgan completed the fifty-run stand. Morgan then geared up to hit a six and a four off Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rashid respectively. While Gill hit a six off Abhishek Sharma, Morgan, who scored an unbeaten 42, closed out the game, hitting a six and a four to help KKR cross the finish line leaving with two overs.

After electing to bat, SRH posted 142/4 on the board on the back of Manish Pandey’s 51. Finally, Wriddhiman Saha joined Pandey in the middle and both added 62 runs together to push KKR past 120. However, Pandey, soon after bringing up his fifty and looking to add some quick runs, got out in the 18th over as Andre Russell gave their third wicket. Saha then perished in the final over as KKR managed to restrict SRH to 142/4.

Match Info

Match: KKR vs SRH, 8th Match, Indian Premier League 2020 

Date: Saturday, September 26, 2020 

Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and opt to bat 

Time: 7:30 PM 

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi 

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney, Virender Sharma 

Third Umpire: Sundaram Ravi 

Match Referee: Shakti Singh 

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad

Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti 

Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad

PlayingDavid Warner (c), Jonny Bairstow, Manish Pandey, Priyam Garg, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Mohammad Nabi, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan 


SRH Innings

David Warnerc & b Varun Chakravarthy363012021
Jonny Bairstowb Pat Cummins5105000
Manish Pandeyc & b Andre Russell5138134.2132
Wriddhiman Saharun out (Dinesh Karthik)303196.7711
Mohammad NabiNOT OUT118137.520
Abhishek SharmaNOT OUT2366.6600
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 3, b 2, lb 2, pen 0)7
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)142
Sunil Narine43107.755
Pat Cummins41914.7511
Shivam Mavi21507.56
Kuldeep Yadav21507.53
Varun Chakravarthy42516.259
Kamlesh Nagarkoti21708.52
Andre Russell216184

KKR Innings

Shubman GillNOT OUT7062112.952
Sunil Narinec David Warner b Khaleel Ahmed02000
Nitish Ranac Wriddhiman Saha b T Natarajan261320060
Dinesh Karthiklbw Rashid Khan03000
Eoin MorganNOT OUT4229144.8232
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 4, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)7
TOTAL(3 wickets; 18 overs)145
Bhuvneshwar Kumar32909.667
Khaleel Ahmed32819.3310
T Natarajan327196
Rashid Khan42516.258
Mohammad Nabi42305.755
Abhishek Sharma1110110