RR vs KXIP Match Report 9

The match between RR and KXIP was sensational in the true sense recording the highest successful run-chase in the Indian Premier League history as RR beat Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) by four wickets in the Dream11 IPL 2020 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Sunday. 


With KXIP in the batting spot, they made a great start with Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul. The two played extremely well and KXIP marched towards sixty at the end of the powerplay, with Mayank and Rahul scoring 29 and 26 runs, respectively.

The powerplay was over, but that was not all! KXIP continued to score at a really rapid pace. While Mayank got a reprieve in the seventh over despite a fine fielding effort from Riyan Parag near the boundary rope, the KXIP opener continued to attack, hitting two sixes and a four in the next over bowled by Rahul Tewatia.

RR managed to stop the Mayank-Rahul juggernaut over the course of the next three overs. While Tom Curran dismissed Mayank after his 50-ball 106-run knock, which included 10 fours and 7 sixes, Ankit Rajpoot got Rahul out for 69 on the final ball of the 18th over. However, RR still managed to score 29 off the last two overs as Nicholas Pooran scoring 25* off 8 and Glenn Maxwell scoring 13* off 9 balls to take KXIP to 223/2, which is presently the highest team score in the IPL 2020. 

It was the final ball of the 19th over that was truly breathtaking. Murugan Ashwin bowled and took a wicket off Riyan Parag. Curran hit a four on the third ball of the final over thus declaring a clear win. 

Match Info

Match: RR vs KXIP, 9th Match, Indian Premier League 2020 

Date: Sunday, September 27, 2020 

Toss: Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opt to bowl 

Time: 7:30 PM 

Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah 

Umpires: Richard Illingworth, Krishnamachari Srinivasan 

Third Umpire: Chettithody Shamshuddin 

Match Referee: Vengalil Narayan Kutty 

Rajasthan Royals Squad

PlayingSteven Smith (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Sanju Samson, Robin Uthappa, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Tom Curran, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Jaydev Unadkat 

Kings XI Punjab Squad

PlayingMayank Agarwal, Lokesh Rahul (c & wk), Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, James Neesham, Sarfaraz Khan, Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell, Ravi Bishnoi 


KXIP Innings

KL Rahulc Shreyas Gopal b Ankit Rajpoot6954127.7771
Mayank Agarwalc Sanju Samson b Tom Curran10650212107
Glenn MaxwellNOT OUT139144.4420
Nicholas PooranNOT OUT258312.513
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 8, b 1, lb 0, pen 0)10
TOTAL(2 wickets; 20 overs)223
Jaydev Unadkat3300105
Ankit Rajpoot43919.757
Jofra Archer446011.59
Shreyas Gopal4440114
Rahul Tewatia1190190
Tom Curran4441114

RR Innings

Jos Buttlerc Sarfaraz Khan b Sheldon Cottrell4757.1400
Steve Smithc Mohammad Shami b Jimmy Neesham5027185.1872
Sanju Samsonc KL Rahul b Mohammad Shami8542202.3847
Rahul Tewatiac Mayank Agarwal b Mohammad Shami5331170.9607
Robin Uthappac Nicholas Pooran b Mohammad Shami9422520
Jofra ArcherNOT OUT133433.3302
Riyan Paragb Murugan Ashwin02000
Tom CurranNOT OUT4140010
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 6, b 1, lb 1, pen 0)8
TOTAL(6 wickets; 19.3 overs)226
Sheldon Cottrell352117.338
Mohammad Shami453313.258
Ravi Bishnoi43408.512
Jimmy Neesham4401105
Murugan Ashwin1.316110.662
Glenn Maxwell32909.666