Match 1: MI VS RCB

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) started off with a big bang in the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 campaign with a 2-wicket win against the Mumbai Indians (MI) on Friday at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. 

It was AB de Villiers who provided the finishing touch, giving RCB their first win of the season. With a total of 160, Washington Sundar successfully opened the batting for the first time in the IPL but was unfortunately dropped off Boult on the second ball of the innings. The RCB skipper, Virat Kohli, on the other hand, got off the edge that marked away to the boundary. 

Furthermore, RCB made a good start quite confidently by easily tackling the pace of Boult and Bumrah, and subsequently attacking the young left-arm pacer, Jansen. Halfway through, RCB were 75-2 with both Maxwell and Kohli appearing to be settled. In the eleventh over, Maxwell defeated Krunal Pandya. 


On a final note, AB de Villiers kept up with RCB’s hopes immediately after the right-hander scored 15 runs off the 18th over that was bowled by Boult as well as struck two crucial boundaries against Bumrah in the penultimate over.  With a total of 3 runs required off the last 3 deliveries, de Villiers ran himself out in an attempt to steal a double but RCB got off the line and was successful in winning on the last ball.

Match Info:

Match:MI vs RCB, 1st Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Friday, April 09, 2021

Toss:Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Umpires:KN Anantha Padmanabhan, Nitin Menon

Third Umpire:Chettithody Shamshuddin

Match Referee:Vengalil Narayan Kutty

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing:Rohit Sharma (c), Chris Lynn, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Marco Jansen, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Bench:Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Dhawal Kulkarni, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Adam Milne, Jayant Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Quinton de Kock, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Arjun Tendulkar, Yudhvir Singh, James Neesham

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad:

Playing:Virat Kohli (c), Rajat Patidar, AB de Villiers (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian, Washington Sundar, Kyle Jamieson, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench:Adam Zampa, Devdutt Padikkal, Sachin Baby, Navdeep Saini, Kane Richardson, Srikar Bharat, Pavan Deshpande, Finn Allen, Suyash Prabhudessai, Mohammed Azharuddeen


(RUN RATE: 7.95)

Rohit Sharmarun out (Virat Kohli/Yuzvendra Chahal)1915126.6611
Chris Lynnc & b Washington Sundar493514043
Suryakumar Yadavc AB de Villiers b Kyle Jamieson3123134.7841
Ishan Kishanlbw Harshal Patel2819147.3621
Hardik Pandyalbw Harshal Patel131013020
Kieron Pollardc Washington Sundar b Harshal Patel7977.7710
Krunal Pandyac Dan Christian b Harshal Patel7710010
Marco Jansenb Harshal Patel02000
Rahul Chaharrun out (Virat Kohli/AB de Villiers)00000
Jasprit BumrahNOT OUT125000
EXTRAS(nb 2, w 2, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)4
TOTAL(9 wickets; 20 overs)159
DID NOT BAT:Trent Boult
Mohammed Siraj42205.512
Kyle Jamieson42716.7513
Yuzvendra Chahal441010.258
Shahbaz Ahmed1140140
Harshal Patel42756.7512
Dan Christian221010.53
Washington Sundar17172


1-24 (Sharma, 3.6 ov) ,2-94 (Yadav, 10.6 ov) ,3-105 (Lynn, 12.5 ov) ,4-135 (Pandya, 15.6 ov) ,5-145 (Kishan, 17.4 ov) ,6-158 (Pandya, 19.1 ov) ,7-158 (Pollard, 19.2 ov) ,8-158 (Jansen, 19.4 ov) ,9-159 (Chahar, 19.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 8.00)

Washington Sundarc Chris Lynn b Krunal Pandya101662.500
Virat Kohlilbw Jasprit Bumrah3329113.7940
Rajat Patidarb Trent Boult8810010
Glenn Maxwellc Chris Lynn b Marco Jansen3928139.2832
AB de Villiersrun out (Krunal Pandya/Ishan Kishan)4827177.7742
Shahbaz Ahmedc Krunal Pandya b Marco Jansen125000
Dan Christianc Rahul Chahar b Jasprit Bumrah1333.3300
Kyle Jamiesonrun out (Jasprit Bumrah)4410000
Harshal PatelNOT OUT43133.3300
Mohammed SirajNOT OUT01000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 9, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)12
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)160
DID NOT BAT:Yuzvendra Chahal
Trent Boult4361912
Jasprit Bumrah42626.510
Marco Jansen428279
Krunal Pandya42516.259
Rahul Chahar443010.754


1-36 (Sundar, 4.2 ov) ,2-46 (Patidar, 5.5 ov) ,3-98 (Kohli, 12.3 ov) ,4-103 (Maxwell, 14.1 ov) ,5-106 (Ahmed, 14.6 ov) ,6-122 (Christian, 16.3 ov) ,7-152 (Jamieson, 18.5 ov) ,8-158 (de Villiers, 19.4 ov)