Match 15: CSK vs KKR

For the second match of the day, old rivals Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders went head-to-head at the Wankhede stadium on Wednesday in what seemed to be a thrilling match. The game went in the favor of the Super Kings who managed to restrict the Knight Riders to 202 and win the game by 18 runs. 

It seemed like a wise decision when KKR decided to put CSK to bat after winning the toss. The opening pair, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis, got off to a flying start. It was only in the thirteenth over that CSK lost their first wicket at 115. Moeen Ali picked up where Gaikwad left with this blistering 25 before getting dismissed by Sunil Narine. Faf remained unscathed till the end of the innings scoring 95 off just 60 deliveries for which he was awarded the player of the match. A dropped catch leading to a six on the last delivery took CSK to a commanding 220.

Kolkata Knight Riders did not get the start they wanted, losing wickets in quick succession thanks to Deepak Chahar’s brilliant bowling spell 4/29. However, Andre Russel took the attack to CSK picking their bowlers apart. Dinesh Karthik and Andre Russel led KKR to 105 for 5 at the halfway mark. The turning point came when Sam Curran bowled a peach of delivery around the stumps and dismissed Andre Russel. Pat Cummins, who followed Russel, continued the pace and took the game right down to the wire. It was intelligent captaincy and great fielding in the final 2 overs that got CSK over the fence and won the thrilling game by 18 runs.

Match Info:

Match:KKR vs CSK, 15th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Wednesday, April 21, 2021

Toss:Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Umpires:Anil Dandekar, Paul Reiffel

Third Umpire:Anil Chaudhary

Match Referee:Shakti Singh

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad:

Playing:Nitish Rana, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna

Bench:Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Sheldon Jackson, Sandeep Warrier, Tim Seifert, Rinku Singh, Venkatesh Iyer, Vaibhav Arora, Harbhajan Singh, Shakib Al Hasan

Chennai Super Kings Squad:

Playing:Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar

Bench:Robin Uthappa, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Jason Behrendorff, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mitchell Santner, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif, Harishankar Reddy, Bhagath Varma, Dwayne Bravo


(RUN RATE: 11.00)

Ruturaj Gaikwadc Pat Cummins b Varun Chakaravarthy6442152.3864
Faf du PlessisNOT OUT9560158.3394
Moeen Alist Dinesh Karthik b Sunil Narine2512208.3322
MS Dhonic Eoin Morgan b Andre Russell178212.521
Ravindra JadejaNOT OUT6160001
EXTRAS(nb 3, w 10, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)13
TOTAL(3 wickets; 20 overs)220
DID NOT BAT:Suresh Raina ,Ambati Rayudu ,Sam Curran ,Shardul Thakur ,Deepak Chahar ,Lungi Ngidi
Varun Chakaravarthy42716.758
Pat Cummins458014.55
Sunil Narine43418.510
Prasidh Krishna449012.2510
Andre Russell227113.54
Kamlesh Nagarkoti225012.52


1-115 (Gaikwad, 12.2 ov) ,2-165 (Ali, 16.3 ov) ,3-201 (Dhoni, 18.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 10.53)

Nitish Ranac MS Dhoni b Deepak Chahar9127520
Shubman Gillc Lungi Ngidi b Deepak Chahar01000
Rahul Tripathic MS Dhoni b Lungi Ngidi8988.8810
Eoin Morganc MS Dhoni b Deepak Chahar7710010
Sunil Narinec Ravindra Jadeja b Deepak Chahar43133.3310
Dinesh Karthiklbw Lungi Ngidi4024166.6642
Andre Russellb Sam Curran5422245.4536
Pat CumminsNOT OUT6634194.1146
Kamlesh Nagarkotic Faf du Plessis b Lungi Ngidi02000
Varun Chakaravarthyrun out (Deepak Chahar/Sam Curran)01000
Prasidh Krishnarun out (Deepak Chahar/Shardul Thakur)01000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 7, b 4, lb 2, pen 0)14
TOTAL(All out; 19.1 overs)202
Deepak Chahar42947.2514
Sam Curran458114.510
Lungi Ngidi4283715
Ravindra Jadeja43308.257
Shardul Thakur3.148015.155


1-1 (Gill, 0.4 ov) ,2-17 (Rana, 2.5 ov) ,3-27 (Morgan, 4.3 ov) ,4-31 (Narine, 4.6 ov) ,5-31 (Tripathi, 5.2 ov) ,6-112 (Russell, 11.2 ov) ,7-146 (Karthik, 14.6 ov) ,8-176 (Nagarkoti, 16.2 ov) ,9-200 (Chakaravarthy, 18.3 ov) ,10-202 (Krishna, 19.1 ov)