Match 18: RR vs KKR

Rajasthan Royals (RR) again made a successful win over the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Match 18 of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday.

Rigorously chasing a target of 134, RR brought a new opening pair of Yashasvi Jaiswal, who replaced Manan Vohra, and Jos Buttler in the middle. Jaiswal got started confidently and scored consecutive fours off Pat Cummins in the second over and later took on Shivam Mavi to produce the same result.

On the other hand, Varun Chakravarthy was offered the ball in the third over and the spinner trapped Buttler in front to provide an early breakthrough for KKR. Sanju Samson was off the mark with a four and joined Jaiswal, who was striking the ball really well. That’s not all! KKR pacers, Mavi and Prasidh Krishna did great bowling and kept the pressure on Samson and David Miller as RR took the chase deep, with 21 required off the final four overs.

KKR smashed 12 runs off the 17th over by Sakariya, who overstepped and conceded a four off a free hit followed by a couple of wide deliveries. Finally, After 9 runs coming in the penultimate over, Pat Cummins started the final over with a maximum. However, Morris added two more wickets with his remarkable bowling. Cummins hit straight to Riyan Parag while Shivam Mavi was castled off the final delivery as KKR ended with a total of 133/9 thus declaring a win. 

Match Info:

Match:RR vs KKR, 18th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Saturday, April 24, 2021

Toss:Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Umpires:Sundaram Ravi, Navdeep Singh

Third Umpire:Paul Reiffel

Match Referee:Manu Nayyar

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (c & wk), David Miller, Shivam Dube, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Jaydev Unadkat, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman

Bench:Shreyas Gopal, Manan Vohra, Andrew Tye, Liam Livingstone, KC Cariappa, Mahipal Lomror, Mayank Markande, Anuj Rawat, Kartik Tyagi, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad:

Playing:Nitish Rana, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Varun Chakravarthy, Shivam Mavi, Prasidh Krishna

Bench:Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Harbhajan Singh, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Sheldon Jackson, Sandeep Warrier, Tim Seifert, Lockie Ferguson, Rinku Singh, Venkatesh Iyer, Vaibhav Arora


(RUN RATE: 6.65)

Nitish Ranac Sanju Samson b Chetan Sakariya22258811
Shubman Gillrun out (Jos Buttler)111957.8910
Rahul Tripathic Riyan Parag b Mustafizur Rahman3626138.4612
Sunil Narinec Yashasvi Jaiswal b Jaydev Unadkat6785.7110
Eoin Morganrun out (Chris Morris)00000
Dinesh Karthikc Chetan Sakariya b Chris Morris2524104.1640
Andre Russellc David Miller b Chris Morris97128.5701
Pat Cumminsc Riyan Parag b Chris Morris106166.6601
Shivam Mavib Chris Morris5771.4210
Prasidh KrishnaNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 5, b 2, lb 1, pen 0)9
TOTAL(9 wickets; 20 overs)133
DID NOT BAT:Varun Chakaravarthy
Jaydev Unadkat42516.2511
Chetan Sakariya43117.758
Mustafizur Rahman42215.513
Chris Morris42345.7518
Rahul Tewatia324084
Shivam Dube15052


1-24 (Gill, 5.4 ov) ,2-45 (Rana, 8.1 ov) ,3-54 (Narine, 9.5 ov) ,4-61 (Morgan, 10.2 ov) ,5-94 (Tripathi, 15.2 ov) ,6-117 (Russell, 17.4 ov) ,7-118 (Karthik, 17.6 ov) ,8-133 (Cummins, 19.2 ov) ,9-133 (Mavi, 19.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 7.11)

Jos Buttlerlbw Varun Chakaravarthy5771.4210
Yashasvi Jaiswalc sub (Kamlesh Nagarkoti) b Shivam Mavi2217129.4150
Sanju SamsonNOT OUT4241102.4321
Shivam Dubec Prasidh Krishna b Varun Chakaravarthy2218122.2221
Rahul Tewatiac sub (Kamlesh Nagarkoti) b Prasidh Krishna5862.500
David MillerNOT OUT2423104.3430
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 6, b 0, lb 7, pen 0)14
TOTAL(4 wickets; 18.5 overs)134
DID NOT BAT:Riyan Parag ,Chris Morris ,Jaydev Unadkat ,Chetan Sakariya ,Mustafizur Rahman
Shivam Mavi41914.7517
Pat Cummins3.53609.394
Varun Chakaravarthy432288
Sunil Narine4200511
Prasidh Krishna32016.668


1-21 (Buttler, 3.2 ov) ,2-40 (Jaiswal, 4.5 ov) ,3-85 (Dube, 10.5 ov) ,4-100 (Tewatia, 13.4 ov)