Match 29: PBKS vs DC

Delhi Capitals (DC) beat Punjab Kings (PBKS) by 7 wickets in Match 29 of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

With a  target of 167, the DC openers, Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan made a great start by scoring 24 in the first two overs. Shaw hit two fours and found an edge that travelled all the way for a six against Mohammad Shami.

It was a total of 17 runs that came off the final over of the powerplay after Shaw smacked two fours and a six off Jordan and DC were 63/0 after 6 overs.

It was Axar Patel who made the breakthrough for DC after Malan missed a delivery that went on to hit the leg-stump. In the same over, Deepak Hooda was run out and PBKS were 4 down. With five overs to go, Mayank accelerated and hit a six each against Rabada and Ishant and brought up his fifty. The PBKS skipper then hit consecutive fours against Axar Patel as the Punjab Kings reached 128/4 at the end of 17 overs. 

Finally, Mayank scored 23 runs that included three fours and a six and his unbeaten 99 helped PBKS post 166 in the first innings. However, Shimron Hetmyer played a cameo and smacked two maximums against Meredith. 

Match Info:

Match:PBKS vs DC, 29th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Sunday, May 02, 2021

Toss:Delhi Capitals won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Umpires:Anil Dandekar, Anil Chaudhary

Third Umpire:Jayaraman Madanagopal

Match Referee:Shakti Singh

Punjab Kings Squad:

Playing:Mayank Agarwal (c), Prabhsimran Singh (wk), Chris Gayle, Dawid Malan, Deepak Hooda, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Chris Jordan, Riley Meredith, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami

Bench:Moises Henriques, Mandeep Singh, Jalaj Saxena, Murugan Ashwin, Sarfaraz Khan, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Jhye Richardson, Ishan Porel, Utkarsh Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Arshdeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Steven Smith, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Kagiso Rabada, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan

Bench:Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav, Chris Woakes, Aniruddha Joshi, Sam Billings, Lukman Meriwala, Tom Curran, Praveen Dubey, Anrich Nortje, Vishnu Vinod, Manimaran Siddharth, Shams Mulani, Ripal Patel


(RUN RATE: 8.30)

Prabhsimran Singhc Steve Smith b Kagiso Rabada12167501
Mayank AgarwalNOT OUT9958170.6884
Chris Gayleb Kagiso Rabada139144.4411
Dawid Malanb Axar Patel262610011
Deepak Hoodarun out (Shimron Hetmyer/Axar Patel)1110000
Shahrukh Khanc Shimron Hetmyer b Avesh Khan458000
Chris Jordanc Lalit Yadav b Kagiso Rabada2366.6600
Harpreet BrarNOT OUT4220010
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 3, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)5
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)166
DID NOT BAT:Riley Meredith ,Ravi Bishnoi ,Mohammad Shami
Ishant Sharma43709.259
Marcus Stoinis16060
Kagiso Rabada436396
Avesh Khan43919.758
Lalit Yadav32508.332
Axar Patel42115.2511


1-17 (Singh, 3.3 ov) ,2-35 (Gayle, 5.2 ov) ,3-87 (Malan, 13.1 ov) ,4-88 (Hooda, 13.3 ov) ,5-129 (Khan, 17.2 ov) ,6-143 (Jordan, 18.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 9.45)

Prithvi Shawb Harpreet Brar3922177.2733
Shikhar DhawanNOT OUT6947146.862
Steve Smithc Dawid Malan b Riley Meredith2422109.0910
Rishabh Pantc Mayank Agarwal b Chris Jordan1411127.2711
Shimron HetmyerNOT OUT16440012
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 3, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)5
TOTAL(3 wickets; 17.4 overs)167
DID NOT BAT:Marcus Stoinis ,Axar Patel ,Lalit Yadav ,Kagiso Rabada ,Ishant Sharma ,Avesh Khan
Riley Meredith3.43519.547
Mohammad Shami337012.336
Ravi Bishnoi442010.57
Chris Jordan221110.54
Harpreet Brar31916.334
Deepak Hooda21105.53


1-63 (Shaw, 6.1 ov) ,2-111 (Smith, 12.6 ov) ,3-147 (Pant, 16.3 ov)