Match 31: KKR Vs RCB

On Monday, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by nine wickets at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi in Match 31 of the 14th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2021).

Shubman Gill (48) and Debutant Venkatesh Iyer (41 not out) stitched 82 runs for the initial wicket as KKR came to 94 for 1 in only 10 overs, pursuing a small chase of 93 for a triumph. 

RCB were bowled out for 92 after opting to bat, with Varun Chakravarthy claiming three wickets for 13 runs. The mystery spinner came close to a hat-trick, dismissing Glenn Maxwell, Wanindu Hasaranga, and Sachin Baby in four overs and returning with figures of 3/13.

KS Bharat and Devdutt Padikkal scored 31 runs for the second wicket, but Lockie Ferguson sent the left-hander to the dugout on the penultimate delivery of the powerplay, ending the partnership. In a disappointing effort in skipper Virat Kohli’s 200th game for RCB, Devdutt Padikkal was the leading run-scorer with 22 runs.

With a double-wicket over, Andre Russell joined the wicket-taking party. In the ninth over, the West Indian had KS Bharat caught in the deep and then the prized scalp of AB de Villiers, unsettling the wood and reducing RCB to 51/4.

Prasidh Krishna, bowling the day’s second over, handed RCB a major blow when he trapped Virat Kohli in front of the wicket with his fourth ball, which jagged in and hit him above the knee roll. 

Match Info:

Match:KKR vs RCB, 31st Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Monday, September 20, 2021

Toss:Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and opt to bat

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Umpires:Chris Gaffaney, Sundaram Ravi

Third Umpire:Virender Sharma

Match Referee:Vengalil Narayan Kutty 

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad:

Playing:Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan (c), Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna

Bench:Shivam Mavi, Harbhajan Singh, Tim Southee, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Sheldon Jackson, Sandeep Warrier, Tim Seifert, Rinku Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Vaibhav Arora

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad:

Playing:Virat Kohli (c), Devdutt Padikkal, Srikar Bharat (wk), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sachin Baby, Kyle Jamieson, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench:Rajat Patidar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Daniel Christian, Dushmantha Chameera, Navdeep Saini, Pavan Deshpande, Mohammed Azharuddeen, George Garton, Suyash Prabhudessai, Tim David, Akash Deep


(RUN RATE: 4.84)

Virat Kohlilbw Prasidh Krishna5412510
Devdutt Padikkalc Dinesh Karthik b Lockie Ferguson222011030
K.S Bharatc Shubman Gill b Andre Russell161984.2110
Glenn Maxwellb Varun Chakaravarthy101758.8200
AB de Villiersb Andre Russell01000
Sachin Babyc Nitish Rana b Varun Chakaravarthy71741.1700
Wanindu Hasarangalbw Varun Chakaravarthy01000
Kyle Jamiesonrun out (Varun Chakaravarthy)41233.3300
Harshal Patelb Lockie Ferguson121012020
Mohammed Sirajc Varun Chakaravarthy b Andre Russell8108010
Yuzvendra ChahalNOT OUT2633.3300
EXTRAS(nb 3, w 1, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)6
TOTAL(All out; 19 overs)92
Varun Chakaravarthy41333.2515
Prasidh Krishna4241614
Lockie Ferguson4242611
Sunil Narine4200512
Andre Russell393310


1-10 (Kohli, 1.4 ov) ,2-41 (Padikkal, 5.6 ov) ,3-51 (Bharat, 8.1 ov) ,4-52 (de Villiers, 8.4 ov) ,5-63 (Maxwell, 11.4 ov) ,6-63 (Hasaranga, 11.5 ov) ,7-66 (Baby, 13.4 ov) ,8-76 (Jamieson, 15.3 ov) ,9-83 (Patel, 16.3 ov) ,10-92 (Siraj, 18.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 9.40)

Shubman Gillc Mohammed Siraj b Yuzvendra Chahal4834141.1761
Venkatesh IyerNOT OUT4127151.8571
Andre RussellNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 4, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)5
TOTAL(1 wickets; 10 overs)94


Nitish Rana ,Rahul Tripathi ,Eoin Morgan ,Dinesh Karthik ,Sunil Narine ,Lockie Ferguson ,Varun Chakaravarthy ,Prasidh Krishna

Mohammed Siraj212068
Kyle Jamieson2260134
Wanindu Hasaranga2200104
Yuzvendra Chahal223111.55
Harshal Patel21306.53


1-82 (Gill, 9.1 ov)