Match 33: DC vs SRH

On Wednesday, the Delhi Capitals (DC) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the 33rd match of the IPL 2021 at the Dubai International Stadium.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, SRH hit 134/9 in 20 overs as Delhi’s bowlers controlled the run rate and took wickets in quick succession. In response, Delhi did not meet much opposition, as its powerful top order glowed brightly.

In the opening encounter of the second round of this year’s IPL, DC put in a strong showing, winning comfortably in 17.5 overs while chasing a modest 135-run goal. DC has climbed to the top of the IPL 2021 points table as a result of this match.

In a superb bowling performance, DC’s Nortje ended with 2 for 12 and was strongly assisted by Rabada (3/37) and Axar Patel (2/21).

Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw contributed a 20-run partnership in 17 balls before the last was gotten by Kane Williamson off the bowling of Khaleel Ahmed as the batsman endeavored for a reckless shot over mid-wicket.

After electing to bat, the script did not go as planned for SRH, as they lost David Warner (0) in the third ball of the innings, leaving them without a run.

The inning was then attempted to be built upon by Williamson and Manish Pandey, who added 31 runs for the third wicket, but SRH was immediately jolted when their skipper gave up a simple catch to Shimron Hetmyer at long off the bowling of Axar Patel.

Match Info:

Match:DC vs SRH, 33rd Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Toss:Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and opt to bat

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Umpires:KN Anantha Padmanabhan, Richard Illingworth

Third Umpire:Jayaraman Madanagopal

Match Referee:Manu Nayyar

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan

Bench:Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav, Steven Smith, Sam Billings, Lukman Meriwala, Tom Curran, Ben Dwarshuis, Praveen Dubey, Vishnu Vinod, Kulwant Khejroliya, Lalit Yadav, Ripal Patel

Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad:

Playing:David Warner, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson (c), Kedar Jadhav, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Bench:Vijay Shankar, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Mohammad Nabi, Jason Roy, Shahbaz Nadeem, Virat Singh, Basil Thampi, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Abhishek Sharma, Priyam Garg, Sherfane Rutherford


(RUN RATE: 6.70)

David Warnerc Axar Patel b Anrich Nortje03000
Wriddhiman Sahac Shikhar Dhawan b Kagiso Rabada1817105.8821
Kane Williamsonc Shimron Hetmyer b Axar Patel182669.2310
Manish Pandeyc & b Kagiso Rabada1716106.2510
Kedar Jadhavlbw Anrich Nortje3837.500
Abdul Samadc Rishabh Pant b Kagiso Rabada2821133.3321
Jason Holderc Prithvi Shaw b Axar Patel109111.1101
Rashid Khanrun out (sub [Steve Smith]/Rishabh Pant)2219115.7821
Bhuvneshwar KumarNOT OUT53166.6610
Sandeep Sharmarun out (Rishabh Pant)01000
EXTRAS(nb 3, w 3, b 1, lb 6, pen 0)13
TOTAL(9 wickets; 20 overs)134


Khaleel Ahmed

Anrich Nortje4122314
Avesh Khan42706.7513
Axar Patel42125.259
Kagiso Rabada43739.2513
Marcus Stoinis1.1806.851
Ravichandran Ashwin2.52207.764


1-0 (Warner, 0.3 ov) ,2-29 (Saha, 4.6 ov) ,3-60 (Williamson, 9.5 ov) ,4-61 (Pandey, 10.1 ov) ,5-74 (Jadhav, 12.6 ov) ,6-90 (Holder, 15.1 ov) ,7-115 (Samad, 18.2 ov) ,8-133 (Khan, 19.4 ov) ,9-134 (Sharma, 19.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 7.79)

Prithvi Shawc Kane Williamson b Khaleel Ahmed118137.520
Shikhar Dhawanc Abdul Samad b Rashid Khan4237113.5161
Shreyas IyerNOT OUT4741114.6322
Rishabh PantNOT OUT3521166.6632
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 4, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)4
TOTAL(2 wickets; 17.5 overs)139


Marcus Stoinis ,Shimron Hetmyer ,Axar Patel ,Ravichandran Ashwin ,Kagiso Rabada ,Avesh Khan ,Anrich Nortje

Khaleel Ahmed43318.259
Bhuvneshwar Kumar321078
Jason Holder3.53308.69
Rashid Khan42616.59
Sandeep Sharma32608.668


1-20 (Shaw, 2.5 ov) ,2-72 (Dhawan, 10.5 ov)