Match 36: DC Vs RR

Delhi Capitals (DC) defeated Rajasthan Royals (RR) in Match 36 of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 in Abu Dhabi on Saturday, Shreyas Iyer top-scored for his Delhi Capitals clan with a 32-ball 43.

RR’s Mustafizur Rahman (2/22) and Chetan Sakariya (2/33) each took two wickets.RR could only manage 121 for 6 in 20 overs in chasing the mark, with skipper Sanju Samson top-scoring with an unbeaten 70 off 53 balls.

Rajasthan Royals lost two wickets at the starting two consecutive overs, requiring 155 runs to win. Anrich Nortje grabbed Yashasvi Jaiswal and Avesh Khan knocked Liam Livingstone. In the fifth over, DC got the third RR wicket when Ashwin managed to have David Miller stumped.

Captain Sanju Samson, meanwhile, made it through thanks to a successful DRS, as he and Mahipal Lomror combined for 31 runs. However, DC struck again in two overs, with Kagiso Rabada and Axar Patel dismissing Lomror and Riyan Parag, respectively.

While Sanju Samson batted bravely and scored a half-century, the DC bowlers kept things tight, hitting at regular intervals and denying RR any momentum with the bat, allowing the side to win by 33 runs.

DC and RR, who decided to bowl, made one and two changes in their squad from the previous encounter, respectively. While Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw got off to a good start, RR hit back with Tyagi and Chetan Sakariya dismissing Dhawan and Shaw in short succession.

Match Info: 

Match:DC vs RR, 36th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Saturday, September 25, 2021

Toss:Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:3:30 PM

Venue:Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Umpires:Chris Gaffaney, Ulhas Gandhe

Third Umpire:Sundaram Ravi

Match Referee:Vengalil Narayan Kutty

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan

Bench:Marcus Stoinis, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav, Steven Smith, Ishant Sharma, Sam Billings, Lukman Meriwala, Tom Curran, Ben Dwarshuis, Praveen Dubey, Vishnu Vinod, Kulwant Khejroliya, Ripal Patel

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Liam Livingstone, David Miller, Mahipal Lomror, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Kartik Tyagi, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman, Tabraiz Shamsi

Bench:Evin Lewis, Chris Morris, Jaydev Unadkat, Manan Vohra, Shreyas Gopal, KC Cariappa, Glenn Phillips, Shivam Dube, Oshane Thomas, Mayank Markande, Anuj Rawat, Gerald Coetzee, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh


(RUN RATE: 7.70)

Prithvi Shawc Liam Livingstone b Chetan Sakariya101283.3300
Shikhar Dhawanb Kartik Tyagi8810010
Shreyas Iyerst Sanju Samson b Rahul Tewatia4332134.3712
Rishabh Pantb Mustafizur Rahman242410020
Shimron Hetmyerc Chetan Sakariya b Mustafizur Rahman281617550
Lalit YadavNOT OUT141593.3310
Axar Patelc David Miller b Chetan Sakariya127171.4201
Ravichandran AshwinNOT OUT6610000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 6, b 2, lb 1, pen 0)9
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)154


Kagiso Rabada ,Avesh Khan ,Anrich Nortje

Mustafizur Rahman42225.56
Mahipal Lomror15054
Chetan Sakariya43328.257
Kartik Tyagi4401109
Tabraiz Shamsi43408.52
Rahul Tewatia31715.666


1-18 (Dhawan, 3.1 ov) ,2-21 (Shaw, 4.1 ov) ,3-83 (Pant, 11.4 ov) ,4-90 (Iyer, 13.2 ov) ,5-121 (Hetmyer, 16.3 ov) ,6-142 (Patel, 18.2 ov)


(RUN RATE: 6.05)

Liam Livingstonec Rishabh Pant b Avesh Khan1333.3300
Yashasvi Jaiswalc Rishabh Pant b Anrich Nortje5412500
Sanju SamsonNOT OUT7053132.0781
David Millerst Rishabh Pant b Ravichandran Ashwin7107000
Mahipal Lomrorc Avesh Khan b Kagiso Rabada192479.1601
Riyan Paragb Axar Patel2728.5700
Rahul Tewatiac Shimron Hetmyer b Anrich Nortje9156000
Tabraiz ShamsiNOT OUT245000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 5, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)6
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)121


Kartik Tyagi ,Chetan Sakariya ,Mustafizur Rahman

Avesh Khan42917.256
Anrich Nortje41824.512
Ravichandran Ashwin4201514
Kagiso Rabada42616.513
Axar Patel42716.755


1-6 (Livingstone, 0.6 ov) ,2-6 (Jaiswal, 1.1 ov) ,3-17 (Miller, 4.2 ov) ,4-48 (Lomror, 10.2 ov) ,5-55 (Parag, 11.5 ov) ,6-99 (Tewatia, 17.2 ov)