Match 11: DC vs PBKS

The Punjab Kings (PBKS) registered their third consecutive defeat against the Dehli Capitals (DC) at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Sunday.

Delhi, having won the toss, elected to bowl first. The Kings’ openers, Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul, got off to a flying start, scoring at almost 10 runs per over. After registering a 100 run partnership for the first wicket, Mayank was dismissed in the 13th over by Lukman Meriwala. Deepak Hooda and Shahrukh Khan ensured that the run rate was unaffected by his dismissal. The Kings’ ended their innings with an impressive 195 at the loss of 4 wickets.


The Delhi Capitals gave a befitting response, matching Punjab’s run rate until the 10-over mark. Shikhar Dhawan, then, began to show his explosive attack overwhelming the Kings’ bowling attack. He registered 92 runs off just 49 balls earning him the player of the match. He was supported by Prithvi Shaw and Marcus Stoinis who added 32 and 27 to the total respectively. Punjab’s bowling attack gave away far too many free hits and Marcus Stonis capitalized on those costly mistakes.

In the end, the Delhi Capitals were able to comfortably reach the target with 10 balls to spare on this batting-friendly track at Mumbai.

Match Info:

Match:DC vs PBKS, 11th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Sunday, April 18, 2021

Toss:Delhi Capitals won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Umpires:Paul Reiffel, Anil Kumar Chaudhary

Third Umpire:Sundaram Ravi

Match Referee:Manu Nayyar

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Steven Smith, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Marcus Stoinis, Lalit Yadav, Chris Woakes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan, Lukman Meriwala

Bench:Shimron Hetmyer, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Sam Billings, Praveen Dubey, Aniruddha Joshi, Vishnu Vinod, Manimaran Siddharth, Shams Mulani, Ripal Patel, Tom Curran, Ajinkya Rahane

Punjab Kings Squad:

Playing:KL Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Shahrukh Khan, Jhye Richardson, Jalaj Saxena, Mohammed Shami, Riley Meredith, Arshdeep Singh

Bench:Moises Henriques, Mandeep Singh, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Sarfaraz Khan, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, Utkarsh Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Prabhsimran Singh, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin


(RUN RATE: 9.75)

KL Rahulc Marcus Stoinis b Kagiso Rabada6151119.672
Mayank Agarwalc Shikhar Dhawan b Lukman Meriwala6936191.6674
Chris Gaylec sub (Ripal Patel) b Chris Woakes119122.2201
Deepak HoodaNOT OUT2213169.2302
Nicholas Pooranc Kagiso Rabada b Avesh Khan98112.510
Shahrukh KhanNOT OUT15530021
EXTRAS(nb 2, w 0, b 0, lb 6, pen 0)8
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)195
DID NOT BAT:Jalaj Saxena ,Jhye Richardson ,Mohammad Shami ,Riley Meredith ,Arshdeep Singh
Chris Woakes442110.59
Lukman Meriwala332110.666
Ravichandran Ashwin428077
Kagiso Rabada443110.758
Lalit Yadav1110111
Avesh Khan43318.259


1-122 (Agarwal, 12.4 ov) ,2-141 (Rahul, 15.2 ov) ,3-158 (Gayle, 16.2 ov) ,4-179 (Pooran, 18.5 ov)


(RUN RATE: 10.80)

Prithvi Shawc Chris Gayle b Arshdeep Singh3217188.2332
Shikhar Dhawanb Jhye Richardson9249187.75132
Steve Smithc Jhye Richardson b Riley Meredith9127500
Rishabh Pantc Deepak Hooda b Jhye Richardson151693.7501
Marcus StoinisNOT OUT2713207.6931
Lalit YadavNOT OUT12620020
EXTRAS(nb 3, w 6, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)11
TOTAL(4 wickets; 18.2 overs)198
DID NOT BAT:Chris Woakes ,Ravichandran Ashwin ,Kagiso Rabada ,Avesh Khan ,Lukman Meriwala
Arshdeep Singh32217.333
Mohammad Shami453013.258
Jalaj Saxena327095
Jhye Richardson441210.258
Deepak Hooda218091
Riley Meredith2.2351154


1-59 (Shaw, 5.3 ov) ,2-107 (Smith, 10.6 ov) ,3-152 (Dhawan, 14.5 ov) ,4-180 (Pant, 17.1 ov)