IPL Orange Cap

Indian Premier League (IPL) has also seen cricketers going away with the prestigious award over the years. The tournament has set up awards specifically for the bowlers and batsmen as well.

These are most well-known by the following names – IPL Orange Cap and IPL Purple Cap.

The IPL Orange Cap is an award given to the batsmen who scores the most amount of runs in a tournament.

The first award was given in 2008 to a batsman who has performed exceptionally well with the bat. The award in 2008 was given to Shaun Marsh who scored 616 runs in a total of 11 matches.

These were the most number of runs scored by any batsman in the inaugural season of the IPL.

Till date, Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring the most amount of runs in one season. The Indian captain was in blistering form in 2016 and scored 973 runs to be named the Orange Cap winner.

He will face tough competition in IPL 2020 as he will be up against two other equally destructive players – David Warner from Australia and Kane Williamson from New Zealand.

Rules for IPL Orange Cap

The rules to be judged the Orange Cap winner are fairly simple. The award is given to the leading run scorer who is then required to wear the cap in the following season.

In the event that two or more batsmen have scored the same number of runs, the strike rate determines the winner of the award.

The winner of the award who is fielding is allowed to wear the cap till the end of the innings even if an opposing batsman has overtaken his runs.

Orange Cap FAQs

What is Orange Cap?

Who was the Orange Cap winner in IPL 2019?

Orange Cap winners from IPL 2008 to 2019

2008 Shaun Marsh (KXIP)616
2009 Matthew Hayden (CSK)572
2010 Sachin Tendulkar (MI)618
2011 Chris Gayle (RCB)608
2012 Chris Gayle (RCB)733
2013 Michael Hussey (CSK)733
2014 Robin Uthappa (KKR)660
2015 David Warner  (SRH)562
2016 Virat Kohli  (RCB)973
2017 David Warner  (SRH)641
2018 Kane Williamson  (SRH)735
2019 David Warner (SRH)692

IPL Purple Cap

Similar to how the orange cap is awarded to the most prolific run scorer in the IPL, an award is also given to the bowler with the most wickets. This award is called the IPL Purple Cap and is handed to a bowler with the most amount of wickets in an IPL season.

The award was first introduced in 2008 and was given to Sohail Tanvir from Pakistan who with his unorthodox action wreaked havoc on the batsmen. Tanvir claimed 22 wickets in just 11 matches.

Till date, West Indie’s Dwayne Bravo has taken the most amount of wickets in any IPL season. Bravo took an astonishing 32 wickets, the most by any bowler.

Imran Tahir from South Africa took the award in the last season, taking 26 wickets in 17 matches. His celebrations after each wicket are well worth the price of admission alone!

IPL 2020 will see fierce competition amongst the bowlers. Bravo, Tahir will be up against pace sensation Jasprit Bumrah who has been troubling batsmen on the international circuit.

Bumrah will be against the fiery pace of Trent Boult from New Zealand making it difficult to predict who will walk away with the Purple Cap in 2020.

Rules for Purple Cap

The Purple Cap is given to the highest wicket taker. The winner is required to wear the cap in the following IPL season. In case of a tie, the bowler with the better economy rate ends up winning the award.

Purple Cap FAQs

What is Purple Cap?

Who was the Purple Cap winner in IPL 2019?

Purple Cap winners from IPL 2008 to 2019

2008 Sohail Tanvir (RR)22
2009 R. P. Singh (DC)23
2010 Pragyan Ojha (DC)21
2011 Lasith Malinga (MI)28
2012 Morne Morkel (DD)25
2013 Dwayne Bravo (CSK)32
2014 Mohit Sharma (CSK)23
2015 Dwayne Bravo (CSK)26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)23
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)26
2018 Andrew Tye (KXIP)24
2019 Imran Tahir (CSK)26