Match 12: CSK vs RR

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) continued their winning streak by defeating the Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 45 runs at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai on Monday. This defeat puts Rajasthan at the seventh position in the IPL points table followed only by the Punjab Kings.

The Rajasthan Royals won the toss and put CSK to ball on what seemed to be a turning track. However, Faf du Plessis and Moeen Ali gave the Super Kings the start they needed with their contributions of 33 of 17 deliveries and 26 of 20 deliveries respectively. Bursts of runs provided by Ambati Rayudu and D.J. Bravo took CSK to a competitive target of 188 at the end of the first innings. Chetan Sakariya’s 3/36 and Chris Morris’ 2/33 spells are definitely praise-worthy.


In response, the Royals got off to a great start, thanks to Jos Buttler’s attack. His terrific form was brought to a halt by Ravindra Jadeja who dismissed him 1 run short of his half-century with an absolute gem of a delivery. The Royals kept losing wickets to the CSK spinners with Moeen Ali being the pick of the bowlers. His bowling figures were 3/7 in 3 overs. Late flourishes from Jaydev Unadkat and Rahul Tewatia brought the Royal to a respectable total of 143 for 9 at the end of 20 overs. 

Moeen Ali bagged the player of the match due to this outstanding performance with the bat and the ball. 

Match Info:

Match:CSK vs RR, 12th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Monday, April 19, 2021

Toss:Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Umpires:Paul Reiffel, Virender Sharma

Third Umpire:Yeshwant Barde

Match Referee:Prakash Bhatt

Chennai Super Kings Squad:

Playing:Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar

Bench:Robin Uthappa, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Krishnappa Gowtham, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif, Harishankar Reddy, Bhagath Varma, Jason Behrendorff

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Jos Buttler, Manan Vohra, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Shivam Dube, David Miller, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Jaydev Unadkat, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman

Bench:Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal, Liam Livingstone, KC Cariappa, Mahipal Lomror, Mayank Markande, Anuj Rawat, Kartik Tyagi, Kuldip Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Akash Singh


(RUN RATE: 9.40)

Ruturaj Gaikwadc Shivam Dube b Mustafizur Rahman101376.9210
Faf du Plessisc Riyan Parag b Chris Morris3317194.1142
Moeen Alic Riyan Parag b Rahul Tewatia262013012
Suresh Rainac Chris Morris b Chetan Sakariya181512011
Ambati Rayuduc Riyan Parag b Chetan Sakariya2717158.8203
Ravindra Jadejac Sanju Samson b Chris Morris87114.2810
MS Dhonic Jos Buttler b Chetan Sakariya1817105.8820
Sam Curranrun out (Mustafizur Rahman/Sanju Samson)136216.6601
Dwayne BravoNOT OUT20825021
Shardul Thakurrun out (Sanju Samson/Mustafizur Rahman)1110000
Deepak ChaharNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 8, b 1, lb 4, pen 0)14
TOTAL(9 wickets; 20 overs)188
Jaydev Unadkat4400107
Chetan Sakariya436399
Mustafizur Rahman43719.259
Chris Morris43328.2511
Rahul Tewatia321178
Riyan Parag1160162


1-25 (Gaikwad, 3.5 ov) ,2-45 (du Plessis, 5.4 ov) ,3-78 (Ali, 9.2 ov) ,4-123 (Rayudu, 13.2 ov) ,5-125 (Raina, 13.5 ov) ,6-147 (Dhoni, 17.2 ov) ,7-163 (Jadeja, 18.3 ov) ,8-174 (Curran, 19.1 ov) ,9-180 (Thakur, 19.4 ov)


(RUN RATE: 7.15)

Jos Buttlerb Ravindra Jadeja493514052
Manan Vohrac Ravindra Jadeja b Sam Curran1411127.2711
Sanju Samsonc Dwayne Bravo b Sam Curran152000
Shivam Dubelbw Ravindra Jadeja17208520
David Millerlbw Moeen Ali254000
Riyan Paragc Ravindra Jadeja b Moeen Ali3742.8500
Rahul Tewatiac Ruturaj Gaikwad b Dwayne Bravo2015133.3302
Chris Morrisc Ravindra Jadeja b Moeen Ali02000
Jaydev Unadkatc Ravindra Jadeja b Shardul Thakur2417141.1721
Chetan SakariyaNOT OUT00000
Mustafizur RahmanNOT OUT04000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 8, b 1, lb 3, pen 0)13
TOTAL(9 wickets; 20 overs)143
Deepak Chahar332010.667
Sam Curran4242614
Shardul Thakur32016.669
Ravindra Jadeja428279
Dwayne Bravo32819.338
Moeen Ali3732.3311


1-30 (Vohra, 3.5 ov) ,2-45 (Samson, 5.5 ov) ,3-87 (Buttler, 11.1 ov) ,4-90 (Dube, 11.6 ov) ,5-92 (Miller, 12.5 ov) ,6-95 (Parag, 14.1 ov) ,7-95 (Morris, 14.3 ov) ,8-137 (Tewatia, 18.6 ov) ,9-143 (Unadkat, 19.2 ov)