Match 13: MI vs DC

The thirteenth match of the fourteenth season took place on Tuesday between the defending champions, Mumbai Indians, and the Delhi Capitals at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The latter emerged victorious by 6 wickets and 5 balls to spare.

Mumbai Indians chose to bat after winning the toss and Rohit Sharma went after the bowling attack immediately smashing boundaries at regular intervals. However, he was overpowered by Amit Mishra’s leg-spin and the turning wicket and got dismissed for 44. Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav tried to stabilize the innings with their 26 and 24 respectively but were dismissed by the Capitals’ spinners. The innings ended with Yadav registering the best performance by the Delhi Capital with his 4/24 and restricting Mumbai Indians to a paltry 137/9.

In response, the Delhi Capitals got off to a stable start with Shikhar Dhawan leading the way. His 45 of 42 balls was only supported by Steve Smith and Lalit Yadav taking the Capitals close to the victory. With 5 needed from 6 balls, Shimron Hetmyer scored a key boundary which sealed the victory for Delhi. The winning runs came off a no-ball with 5 balls to spare handing Mumbai their second defeat.

Match Info:

Match:DC vs MI, 13th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Toss:Mumbai Indians won the toss and opt to bat

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Umpires:Chris Gaffaney, Chettithody Shamshuddin

Third Umpire:Ulhas Gandhe

Match Referee:Vengalil Narayan Kutty

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Steven Smith, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Lalit Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan

Bench:Chris Woakes, Lukman Meriwala, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Umesh Yadav, Aniruddha Joshi, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Praveen Dubey, Anrich Nortje, Vishnu Vinod, Manimaran Siddharth, Shams Mulani, Ripal Patel

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing:Quinton de Kock (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Bench:Adam Milne, Piyush Chawla, Dhawal Kulkarni, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Chris Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Neesham, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Arjun Tendulkar, Marco Jansen, Yudhvir Singh


(RUN RATE: 6.85)

Rohit Sharmac Steve Smith b Amit Mishra4430146.6633
Quinton de Kockc Rishabh Pant b Marcus Stoinis245000
Suryakumar Yadavc Rishabh Pant b Avesh Khan241516040
Ishan Kishanb Amit Mishra262892.8511
Hardik Pandyac Steve Smith b Amit Mishra01000
Krunal Pandyab Lalit Yadav152000
Kieron Pollardlbw Amit Mishra254000
Jayant Yadavc & b Kagiso Rabada2322104.5410
Rahul Chaharc Rishabh Pant b Avesh Khan6610010
Jasprit BumrahNOT OUT3310000
Trent BoultNOT OUT1110000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 0, b 0, lb 5, pen 0)5
TOTAL(9 wickets; 20 overs)137
Marcus Stoinis32016.666
Ravichandran Ashwin43107.7512
Kagiso Rabada32518.337
Amit Mishra4244611
Avesh Khan21527.55
Lalit Yadav41714.257

1-9 (de Kock, 2.1 ov) ,2-67 (Yadav, 6.6 ov) ,3-76 (Sharma, 8.4 ov) ,4-77 (Pandya, 8.6 ov) ,5-81 (Pandya, 10.4 ov) ,6-84 (Pollard, 11.5 ov) ,7-123 (Kishan, 17.3 ov) ,8-129 (Yadav, 18.5 ov) ,9-135 (Chahar, 19.4 ov)

(RUN RATE: 7.20)

Prithvi Shawc & b Jayant Yadav7514010
Shikhar Dhawanc Krunal Pandya b Rahul Chahar4542107.1451
Steve Smithlbw Kieron Pollard3329113.7940
Lalit YadavNOT OUT22258810
Rishabh Pantc Krunal Pandya b Jasprit Bumrah7887.510
Shimron HetmyerNOT OUT149155.5520
EXTRAS(nb 3, w 4, b 0, lb 3, pen 0)10
TOTAL(4 wickets; 19.1 overs)138
DID NOT BAT:Marcus Stoinis ,Ravichandran Ashwin ,Kagiso Rabada ,Amit Mishra ,Avesh Khan
Trent Boult42305.7513
Jayant Yadav42516.2510
Jasprit Bumrah432187
Krunal Pandya21708.52
Rahul Chahar42917.259
Kieron Pollard1.1917.713

1-11 (Shaw, 1.3 ov) ,2-64 (Smith, 9.2 ov) ,3-100 (Dhawan, 14.5 ov) ,4-115 (Pant, 16.5 ov)