Match 16: RR vs RCB

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) continued their winning streak by defeating the Rajasthan Royals (RR) at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Thursday. They registered a 10 wicket victory after successfully chasing a target of 178 with 21 balls to spare. 

In RCB’s first match outside Chennai, the openers asserted their dominance over the bowling attack. Devdutt Padikkal picked the bowlers apart early on with Virat Kolhi providing steady support at the other end. The RR bowling could not find a hint in the RCB as they continued to score at 10 runs per over. Padikkal scored his maiden IPL century at a strike rate of 200. He was awarded the player of the match for this memorable knock. Virat Kolhi was also brilliant on the other end, scoring 72 of 47 deliveries. 

Earlier in the day, RCB won the toss and put RR to bat. Mohammed Siraj was lethal with his attack and was not letting the RR batsmen stabilize. Sanju Samson provided signs of recovery early with his 22 followed by Shivam Dube and Rahul Tewatia with their 46 off 32 and 40 of 23 deliveries respectively. Their efforts were matched by Harshal Patel and Siraj who took 3 wickets each on what seemed to be a great pitch for the batsmen. 

Match Info:

Match:RCB vs RR, 16th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Thursday, April 22, 2021

Toss:Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Umpires:Sundaram Ravi, Jayaraman Madanagopal

Third Umpire:Virender Sharma

Match Referee:Shakti Singh

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad:

Playing:Virat Kohli (c), Devdutt Padikkal, Shahbaz Ahmed, Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers (wk), Washington Sundar, Kyle Jamieson, Kane Richardson, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench:Finn Allen, Rajat Patidar, Daniel Christian, Sachin Baby, Srikar Bharat, Navdeep Saini, Pavan Deshpande, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Adam Zampa, Suyash Prabhudessai, Daniel Sams

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Jos Buttler, Manan Vohra, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Shivam Dube, David Miller, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Shreyas Gopal, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman

Bench:Jaydev Unadkat, Andrew Tye, KC Cariappa, Mahipal Lomror, Mayank Markande, Anuj Rawat, Kartik Tyagi, Kuldip Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Akash Singh


(RUN RATE: 8.85)

Jos Buttlerb Mohammed Siraj8810020
Manan Vohrac Kane Richardson b Kyle Jamieson7977.7710
Sanju Samsonc Glenn Maxwell b Washington Sundar2118116.6621
David Millerlbw Mohammed Siraj02000
Shivam Dubec Glenn Maxwell b Kane Richardson4632143.7552
Riyan Paragc Yuzvendra Chahal b Harshal Patel2516156.2540
Rahul Tewatiac Shahbaz Ahmed b Mohammed Siraj4023173.9142
Chris Morrisc Yuzvendra Chahal b Harshal Patel107142.8501
Shreyas GopalNOT OUT7417501
Chetan Sakariyac AB de Villiers b Harshal Patel01000
Mustafizur RahmanNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 8, b 5, lb 0, pen 0)13
TOTAL(9 wickets; 20 overs)177
Mohammed Siraj42736.7516
Kyle Jamieson4281711
Kane Richardson32919.665
Yuzvendra Chahal218095
Washington Sundar32317.664
Harshal Patel447311.758


1-14 (Buttler, 2.3 ov) ,2-16 (Vohra, 3.5 ov) ,3-18 (Miller, 4.3 ov) ,4-43 (Samson, 7.2 ov) ,5-109 (Parag, 13.3 ov) ,6-133 (Dube, 15.3 ov) ,7-170 (Tewatia, 18.6 ov) ,8-170 (Morris, 19.1 ov) ,9-170 (Sakariya, 19.2 ov)


(RUN RATE: 10.96)

Virat KohliNOT OUT7247153.1963
Devdutt PadikkalNOT OUT10152194.23116
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 6, b 1, lb 1, pen 0)8
TOTAL(0 wickets; 16.3 overs)181
DID NOT BAT:Shahbaz Ahmed ,Glenn Maxwell ,AB de Villiers ,Washington Sundar ,Kyle Jamieson ,Harshal Patel ,Kane Richardson ,Mohammed Siraj ,Yuzvendra Chahal
Shreyas Gopal335011.666
Chetan Sakariya43508.757
Chris Morris338012.662
Mustafizur Rahman3.33409.718
Rahul Tewatia223011.52
Riyan Parag1140140