Match 17: MI VS PBKS

The 17th game of the season took place on Friday between the Punjab Kings (PBKS) and the Mumbai Indians (MI) at the M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The Punjab Kings registered a much-needed win by chasing down the target of 132 with 14 balls to spare and 9 wickets in hand. 

Mumbai Indians were put to bat by the Kings after winning the toss. Rohit Sharma proved his mettle yet again with his mature knock of 63 in 52 balls which provided much-needed stability to the innings. He was supported, at the other end, by Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard at the end with their 33 and 16 respectively. Mohammed Shami and Ravi Bishnoi took full advantage of the bowler-friendly wicket, taking 2 wickets each, and restricted the Indians to a low-scoring total of 131/6.

In response, the Kings played extremely cautious. Their intent to not lose wickets and to get their batsmen in form seemed evident in their approach. Their attack was led from the front by the captain, KL Rahul who scored the slowest half-century for the Kings at a strike rate of 100. He was unscathed till the end, scoring 60 of 52 deliveries, for which he was awarded the player of the match. He received tremendous support from his fellow batsmen, Mayank Agarwal and Chris Gayle, who scored 25 of 20 and 43 off 35 deliveries respectively. Rahul Chahar took the only wicket for Mumbai who is now tied with Punjab on the points table.

Match Info

Match:PBKS vs MI, 17th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Friday, April 23, 2021

Toss:Punjab Kings won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Umpires:Nitin Menon, Chettithody Shamshuddin

Third Umpire:Saiyed Khalid

Match Referee:Vengalil Narayan Kutty

Punjab Kings Squad:

Playing:KL Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Deepak Hooda, Moises Henriques, Shahrukh Khan, Fabian Allen, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh

Bench:Murugan Ashwin, Mandeep Singh, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Jalaj Saxena, Sarfaraz Khan, Saurabh Kumar, Jhye Richardson, Ishan Porel, Riley Meredith, Utkarsh Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Prabhsimran Singh, Harpreet Brar

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing:Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Bench:Piyush Chawla, Dhawal Kulkarni, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Adam Milne, Chris Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Neesham, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Arjun Tendulkar, Marco Jansen, Yudhvir Singh


(RUN RATE: 6.55)

Quinton de Kockc Moises Henriques b Deepak Hooda356000
Rohit Sharmac Fabian Allen b Mohammad Shami6352121.1552
Ishan Kishanc KL Rahul b Ravi Bishnoi61735.2900
Suryakumar Yadavc Chris Gayle b Ravi Bishnoi3327122.2231
Kieron PollardNOT OUT1612133.3301
Hardik Pandyac Deepak Hooda b Arshdeep Singh142500
Krunal Pandyac Nicholas Pooran b Mohammad Shami3310000
Jayant YadavNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 2, b 4, lb 0, pen 0)6
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)131
DID NOT BAT:Rahul Chahar ,Jasprit Bumrah ,Trent Boult
Moises Henriques312049
Deepak Hooda315159
Mohammad Shami42125.257
Ravi Bishnoi42125.2510
Fabian Allen3300102
Arshdeep Singh32819.337


1-7 (de Kock, 1.6 ov) ,2-26 (Kishan, 6.6 ov) ,3-105 (Yadav, 16.1 ov) ,4-112 (Sharma, 17.3 ov) ,5-122 (Pandya, 18.4 ov) ,6-130 (Pandya, 19.5 ov)


(RUN RATE: 7.47)

KL RahulNOT OUT6052115.3833
Mayank Agarwalc Suryakumar Yadav b Rahul Chahar252012541
Chris GayleNOT OUT4335122.8552
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 3, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)4
TOTAL(1 wickets; 17.4 overs)132
DID NOT BAT:Nicholas Pooran ,Deepak Hooda ,Moises Henriques ,Shahrukh Khan ,Fabian Allen ,Ravi Bishnoi ,Mohammad Shami ,Arshdeep Singh
Trent Boult2.430011.257
Krunal Pandya331010.337
Jasprit Bumrah321079
Rahul Chahar41914.758
Jayant Yadav4200516
Kieron Pollard1110111


1-53 (Agarwal, 7.2 ov)