Match 24: RR vs MI

Mumbai Indians (MI) are starting to find their form by registering a convincing win by 7 wickets over the Rajasthan Royal (RR) at the Arun Jaitley stadium in Delhi on Thursday.

After losing the toss and being put to bat, the Royals placed steady innings with each of the first four batsmen scoring more than 30. Sanju Samson and Jos Buttler proved their worth with their performances of 42 from 27 balls and 41 from 32 balls respectively. The MI bowling attack did its part by breaking partnerships at regular intervals. Rahul Chahar’s two wickets came at crucial times and proved very valuable to the success of the Indians. 

In response, Mumbai Indians got off to a cautious start scoring at around 7 runs per over during the power play. Chris Morris’s bowling spell proved to be a bother for the Indians when he dismissed Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav just as they found their footing. However, Quinton de Kock and Krunal Pandya provided a much-needed partnership with their contributions of 70 from 50 balls and 39 from 26 balls respectively. The finishing runs were scored by Pollard with 9 balls to spare. De Kock was awarded the player of the match for his crucial knock. 

Match Info:

Match:MI vs RR, 24th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Thursday, April 29, 2021

Toss:Mumbai Indians won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:3:30 PM

Venue:Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Umpires:Chris Gaffaney, KN Anantha Padmanabhan

Third Umpire:Chettithody Shamshuddin

Match Referee:Vengalil Narayan Kutty

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing:Quinton de Kock (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Bench:Ishan Kishan, Piyush Chawla, Dhawal Kulkarni, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Adam Milne, Chris Lynn, James Neesham, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Arjun Tendulkar, Marco Jansen, Yudhvir Singh

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Shivam Dube, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Riyan Parag, Chris Morris, Jaydev Unadkat, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman

Bench:Manan Vohra, Shreyas Gopal, KC Cariappa, Mahipal Lomror, Mayank Markande, Anuj Rawat, Kartik Tyagi, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh


(RUN RATE: 8.55)

Jos Buttlerst Quinton de Kock b Rahul Chahar4132128.1233
Yashasvi Jaiswalc & b Rahul Chahar322016022
Sanju Samsonb Trent Boult4227155.5550
Shivam Dubec & b Jasprit Bumrah3531112.922
David MillerNOT OUT7417510
Riyan ParagNOT OUT87114.2810
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 3, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)6
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)171
DID NOT BAT:Rahul Tewatia ,Chris Morris ,Jaydev Unadkat ,Chetan Sakariya ,Mustafizur Rahman
Trent Boult43719.257
Jasprit Bumrah41513.7512
Jayant Yadav337012.333
Nathan Coulter-Nile43508.758
Rahul Chahar43328.257
Krunal Pandya1120120


1-66 (Buttler, 7.4 ov) ,2-91 (Jaiswal, 9.5 ov) ,3-148 (Samson, 17.4 ov) ,4-158 (Dube, 18.5 ov)


(RUN RATE: 9.29)

Rohit Sharmac Chetan Sakariya b Chris Morris141782.3501
Quinton de KockNOT OUT705014062
Suryakumar Yadavc Jos Buttler b Chris Morris161016030
Krunal Pandyab Mustafizur Rahman392615022
Kieron PollardNOT OUT16820021
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 2, b 0, lb 15, pen 0)17
TOTAL(3 wickets; 18.3 overs)172
DID NOT BAT:Hardik Pandya ,Jayant Yadav ,Nathan Coulter-Nile ,Rahul Chahar ,Jasprit Bumrah ,Trent Boult
Chetan Sakariya318066
Jaydev Unadkat43308.257
Mustafizur Rahman3.337110.576
Chris Morris43328.259
Rahul Tewatia3300104
Shivam Dube16063


1-49 (Sharma, 5.6 ov) ,2-83 (Yadav, 9.2 ov) ,3-146 (Pandya, 16.4 ov)