Match 26: PBKS vs RCB

Punjab Kings (PBKS) made an outstanding victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Match 26 of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Friday.

It was Harpreet Brar who scored 25 runs thus making 3 wickets, while captain KL Rahul scored an unbeaten 91 off 57 deliveries as PBKS registered their third win of the season. Virat Kohli made two fours inside the powerplay and was joined by Rajat Patidar as RCB moved to 36/1 after 6 overs.

Kohli further clubbed his first maximum of the innings and smashed Harpreet straight down the ground as fifty was up for RCB in the 8th over. On the other hand, PBKS got rid of AB de Villiers, who was then caught inside the circle as Harpreet scalped his third wicket of the match. 

Furthermore, RCB spinners successfully took two additional wickets after both Hooda and Shahrukh Khan got out. While Hooda was caught in the deep off Shahbaz Ahmed’s bowling, Shahrukh was cleaned up with a googly from Chahal.

Harshal Patel conceded eighteen runs and Harpreet Brar made a four and six and Rahul finished the 18th over with a fine four. Finally, Siraj conceded only 7 runs in the penultimate over but the last over belonged to the Punjab Kings. Harpreet then finished the innings in style by making PBKS super-proud! 

Match Info:

Match:PBKS vs RCB, 26th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Friday, April 30, 2021

Toss:Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Umpires:Virender Sharma, Sundaram Ravi

Third Umpire:Jayaraman Madanagopal

Match Referee:Shakti Singh

Punjab Kings Squad:

Playing:KL Rahul (c), Prabhsimran Singh (wk), Chris Gayle, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Chris Jordan, Riley Meredith, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami

Bench:Mayank Agarwal, Moises Henriques, Arshdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dawid Malan, Jalaj Saxena, Murugan Ashwin, Sarfaraz Khan, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Jhye Richardson, Ishan Porel, Utkarsh Singh, Darshan Nalkande

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad:

Playing:Virat Kohli (c), Devdutt Padikkal, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Daniel Sams, Kyle Jamieson, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench:Washington Sundar, Daniel Christian, Sachin Baby, Srikar Bharat, Navdeep Saini, Pavan Deshpande, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Finn Allen, Suyash Prabhudessai


(RUN RATE: 8.95)

KL RahulNOT OUT9157159.6475
Prabhsimran Singhc Virat Kohli b Kyle Jamieson7710010
Chris Gaylec AB de Villiers b Daniel Sams4624191.6662
Nicholas Pooranc Shahbaz Ahmed b Kyle Jamieson03000
Deepak Hoodac Rajat Patidar b Shahbaz Ahmed5955.5500
Shahrukh Khanb Yuzvendra Chahal03000
Harpreet BrarNOT OUT2517147.0512
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 4, b 0, lb 1, pen 0)5
TOTAL(5 wickets; 20 overs)179
DID NOT BAT:Riley Meredith ,Ravi Bishnoi ,Mohammad Shami ,Chris Jordan
Daniel Sams4241611
Mohammed Siraj324087
Kyle Jamieson332210.667
Yuzvendra Chahal43418.59
Harshal Patel453013.255
Shahbaz Ahmed21115.52


1-19 (Singh, 3.3 ov) ,2-99 (Gayle, 10.4 ov) ,3-107 (Pooran, 11.3 ov) ,4-117 (Hooda, 13.6 ov) ,5-118 (Khan, 14.4 ov)


(RUN RATE: 7.25)

Virat Kohlib Harpreet Brar3534102.9431
Devdutt Padikkalb Riley Meredith76116.6601
Rajat Patidarc Nicholas Pooran b Chris Jordan3130103.3321
Glenn Maxwellb Harpreet Brar01000
AB de Villiersc KL Rahul b Harpreet Brar3933.3300
Shahbaz Ahmedc Harpreet Brar b Ravi Bishnoi81172.7210
Daniel Samsb Ravi Bishnoi347500
Kyle JamiesonNOT OUT1611145.4511
Harshal Patelc Ravi Bishnoi b Mohammad Shami3113238.4632
Mohammed SirajNOT OUT01000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 3, b 0, lb 8, pen 0)11
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)145
DID NOT BAT:Yuzvendra Chahal
Riley Meredith3.22918.77
Mohammad Shami3.42817.639
Ravi Bishnoi41724.2510
Harpreet Brar41934.7515
Chris Jordan43117.759
Deepak Hooda1130131


1-19 (Padikkal, 2.3 ov) ,2-62 (Kohli, 10.1 ov) ,3-62 (Maxwell, 10.2 ov) ,4-69 (de Villiers, 12.1 ov) ,5-91 (Patidar, 14.4 ov) ,6-96 (Ahmed, 15.4 ov) ,7-96 (Sams, 15.5 ov) ,8-144 (Patel, 19.4 ov)