Match 27: MI vs CSK

Mumbai Indians (MI) made their second consecutive victory in the IPL season after beating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 4 wickets in Match 27 of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Saturday.

With a target of 219, MI openers  Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock started off the match with an optimistic note striking at 10 runs per over in the powerplay. MI was successful in scoring 15 off Chahar in the 3rd over as de Kock smashed the first six of MI’s innings.

On the other hand, CSK, who were put in to bat first, lost Ruturaj Gaikwad in the opening over. Trent Boult then provided MI with an early wicket after the CSK opener was caught inside the circle. However, CSK did not allow the pressure to kick in after du Plessis and Moeen Ali clubbed a six each against Kulkarni and Boult respectively.

Further, Moeen added two more fours followed by a six against Bumrah with a flick of the wrists in the 5th over. The left-hander finished the powerplay with a four and CSK were 49/1 after 6 overs. 

Rayudu and Jadeja then made a key partnership, with CSK approaching towards the end of the innings. Rayudu launched Chahar for a maximum in the 15th over followed by two huge hits down the ground against Kulkarni.  

Bumrah conceded 21 runs in the 17th over. While Jadeja hit a four, Rayudu finished the over with 2 sixes and a four off a free hit. Rayudu scored 24 runs and finished off the innings with a four and six each thus making MI proud! 

Match Info:

Match:MI vs CSK, 27th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Saturday, May 01, 2021

Toss:Mumbai Indians won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Umpires:KN Anantha Padmanabhan, Nandan

Third Umpire:Chris Gaffaney

Match Referee:Javagal Srinath

Mumbai Indians Squad:

Playing:Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Neesham, Rahul Chahar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Bench:Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jayant Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Adam Milne, Chris Lynn, Ishan Kishan, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Arjun Tendulkar, Marco Jansen, Yudhvir Singh

Chennai Super Kings Squad:

Playing:Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar

Bench:Dwayne Bravo, Robin Uthappa, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Jason Behrendorff, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mitchell Santner, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif, Harishankar Reddy, Bhagath Varma


(RUN RATE: 10.90)

Ruturaj Gaikwadc Hardik Pandya b Trent Boult4410010
Faf du Plessisc Jasprit Bumrah b Kieron Pollard5028178.5724
Moeen Alic Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah5836161.1155
Suresh Rainac Krunal Pandya b Kieron Pollard245000
Ambati RayuduNOT OUT7227266.6647
Ravindra JadejaNOT OUT222210020
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 7, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)10
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)218
DID NOT BAT:MS Dhoni ,Sam Curran ,Shardul Thakur ,Deepak Chahar ,Lungi Ngidi
Trent Boult442110.510
Dhawal Kulkarni4480127
Jasprit Bumrah4561145
Rahul Chahar432088
Jimmy Neesham2260133
Kieron Pollard212264


1-4 (Gaikwad, 0.4 ov) ,2-112 (Ali, 10.5 ov) ,3-116 (du Plessis, 11.5 ov) ,4-116 (Raina, 11.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 10.95)

Quinton de Kockc & b Moeen Ali3828135.7141
Rohit Sharmac Ruturaj Gaikwad b Shardul Thakur3524145.8341
Suryakumar Yadavc MS Dhoni b Ravindra Jadeja3310000
Krunal Pandyalbw Sam Curran3223139.1322
Kieron PollardNOT OUT8734255.8868
Hardik Pandyac Faf du Plessis b Sam Curran167228.5702
Jimmy Neeshamc Shardul Thakur b Sam Curran01000
Dhawal KulkarniNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 8, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)8
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)219
DID NOT BAT:Rahul Chahar ,Jasprit Bumrah ,Trent Boult
Deepak Chahar43709.258
Sam Curran43438.511
Lungi Ngidi462015.53
Shardul Thakur4561144
Ravindra Jadeja32919.665
Moeen Ali11115


1-71 (Sharma, 7.4 ov) ,2-77 (Yadav, 8.4 ov) ,3-81 (de Kock, 9.4 ov) ,4-170 (Pandya, 16.3 ov) ,5-202 (Pandya, 18.4 ov) ,6-203 (Neesham, 18.6 ov)