Match 32: PBKS vs RR

Rajasthan Royals grabbed a thrilling two-run victory against Punjab Kings in the Indian Premier League 2021 at the Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday, with fast bowler Kartik Tyagi conceding just one run and taking two wickets in the last over of the game.

With several wickets remaining, Punjab just needed four runs off the last over, but Tyagi (2/29) had Nicholas Pooran (32) and Deepak Hooda both caught behind, and he also managed to frustrate Fabian Allen (0 not out) off the final ball, as Punjab concluded at 183/4.

Rajasthan had been put in to bat and was reduced to 185 all out in 20 overs. In the final six overs, Punjab took seven wickets, with fast bowler Arshdeep Singh finishing with 5/32.

Rajasthan appeared to be on track for a 200-plus total as opener Evin Lewis (36 off 21 balls) smashed seven fours and a six in an opening partnership of 54 before being dismissed in the sixth over.

Rajasthan lost their way after the fellow opener and top scorer Yashasvi Jaiswal departed for 49 in the 15th over, despite cameos from Mahipal Lomror (43) and Liam Livingstone (25).

Mohammed Shami was commendable with his 3/21, which included Tewatia and Chris Morris’s wicket in his final over.

Punjab skipper KL Rahul (49) and Mayank Agarwal (67) took advantage of Rajasthan’s shoddy fielding to give their team a dominating start of 120 runs off 71 balls before both fell in consecutive overs.

Match Info:

Match:PBKS vs RR, 32nd Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Tuesday, September 21, 2021

Toss:Punjab Kings won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Umpires:Michael Gough, Anil Kumar Chaudhary

Third Umpire:KN Anantha Padmanabhan

Match Referee:Prakash Bhatt

Punjab Kings Squad:

Playing:KL Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran, Deepak Hooda, Fabian Allen, Adil Rashid, Harpreet Brar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel

Bench:Chris Gayle, Nathan Ellis, Chris Jordan, Jalaj Saxena, Moises Henriques, Prabhsimran Singh, Mandeep Singh, Murugan Ashwin, Sarfaraz Khan, Saurabh Kumar, Utkarsh Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Ravi Bishnoi, Shahrukh Khan

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Yashasvi Jaiswal, Evin Lewis, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Liam Livingstone, Mahipal Lomror, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya, Kartik Tyagi

Bench:Shivam Dube, Tabraiz Shamsi, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, KC Cariappa, Glenn Phillips, Oshane Thomas, Mayank Markande, Anuj Rawat, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh


(RUN RATE: 9.25)

Evin Lewisc Mayank Agarwal b Arshdeep Singh3621171.4271
Yashasvi Jaiswalc Mayank Agarwal b Harpreet Brar4936136.1162
Sanju Samsonc KL Rahul b Ishan Porel458000
Liam Livingstonec Fabian Allen b Arshdeep Singh2517147.0521
Mahipal Lomrorc Aiden Markram b Arshdeep Singh4317252.9424
Riyan Paragc Aiden Markram b Mohammad Shami458000
Rahul Tewatiab Mohammad Shami254000
Chris Morrisc Aiden Markram b Mohammad Shami5510000
Chetan Sakariyac & b Arshdeep Singh76116.6610
Kartik Tyagib Arshdeep Singh1333.3300
Mustafizur RahmanNOT OUT00000
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 5, b 0, lb 4, pen 0)9
TOTAL(All out; 20 overs)185
Mohammad Shami42135.2513
Ishan Porel43919.7510
Deepak Hooda237018.52
Arshdeep Singh4325811
Adil Rashid335011.666
Harpreet Brar31715.664


1-54 (Lewis, 5.3 ov) ,2-68 (Samson, 7.1 ov) ,3-116 (Livingstone, 11.5 ov) ,4-136 (Jaiswal, 14.2 ov) ,5-166 (Parag, 16.3 ov) ,6-169 (Lomror, 17.1 ov) ,7-175 (Tewatia, 18.1 ov) ,8-178 (Morris, 18.5 ov) ,9-185 (Sakariya, 19.5 ov) ,10-185 (Tyagi, 19.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 9.15)

KL Rahulc Kartik Tyagi b Chetan Sakariya4933148.4842
Mayank Agarwalc Liam Livingstone b Rahul Tewatia6743155.8172
Aiden MarkramNOT OUT262013021
Nicholas Pooranc Sanju Samson b Kartik Tyagi3222145.4512
Deepak Hoodac Sanju Samson b Kartik Tyagi02000
Fabian AllenNOT OUT01000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 8, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)9
TOTAL(4 wickets; 20 overs)183


Ishan Porel ,Harpreet Brar ,Mohammad Shami ,Adil Rashid ,Arshdeep Singh

Mustafizur Rahman43007.57
Chetan Sakariya331110.335
Kartik Tyagi42927.2512
Chris Morris447011.755
Rahul Tewatia32317.663
Mahipal Lomror17070
Riyan Parag1160160


1-120 (Rahul, 11.5 ov) ,2-126 (Agarwal, 12.6 ov) ,3-183 (Pooran, 19.3 ov) ,4-183 (Hooda, 19.5 ov)