Match 38: CSK Vs KKR

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by two wickets in a last-ball drama in the 14th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2021) at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Sunday, courtesy to a spectacular cameo from Ravindra Jadeja (22 off 8 balls).

CSK top-order batsmen joined in with useful assistance in pursuit of a 172-run mark, but they wobbled towards the finish before Jadeja carried off the win with an 8-ball 22 that included two fours and as many sixes to help his team reach 172 for 8 in 20 overs. Other players who contributed to the win are Faf du Plessis (44), Ruturaj Gaikwad (40), and Moeen Ali (32).

Shardul Thakur, an India pacer, was one of CSK’s finest bowlers in the tournament, delivering excellent figures of 2/20 in his four overs. Josh Hazlewood also took two wickets, one of which was KKR captain Eoin Morgan.

Earlier, KKR selected an unchanged XI from their previous match against Mumbai Indians (MI), while CSK made a single alteration to their starting lineup, with Sam Curran replacing Dwayne Bravo.

Shubman Gill was run-out in the same over after surviving an LBW judgement in the first. After 15 overs, KKR were 118/4, courtesy to two sixes and two fours from Nitish Rana and Andre Russell.

Dinesh Karthik then joined Rana in the middle and played a blitz – 26 of 11 – with three fours and one six as the pair added 46 runs quickly before Rana, who struck an unbeaten 37, led KKR to 171/6.

Match Info:

Match:CSK vs KKR, 38th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Sunday, September 26, 2021

Toss:Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and opt to bat

Time:3:30 PM

Venue:Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Umpires:Tapan Sharma, Chris Gaffaney

Third Umpire:Virender Sharma

Match Referee:Vengalil Narayanan Kutty

Chennai Super Kings Squad:

Playing:Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

Bench:Dwayne Bravo, Robin Uthappa, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Jason Behrendorff, Krishnappa Gowtham, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif, Harishankar Reddy, Bhagath Varma

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad:

Playing:Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan (c), Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakaravarthy, Prasidh Krishna

Bench:Harbhajan Singh, Shakib Al Hasan, Tim Southee, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Sheldon Jackson, Sandeep Warrier, Tim Seifert, Rinku Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Vaibhav Arora


(RUN RATE: 8.55)

Shubman Gillrun out (Ambati Rayudu)9518020
Venkatesh Iyerc MS Dhoni b Shardul Thakur181512030
Rahul Tripathib Ravindra Jadeja4533136.3641
Eoin Morganc Faf du Plessis b Josh Hazlewood81457.1400
Nitish RanaNOT OUT3727137.0331
Andre Russellb Shardul Thakur2015133.3321
Dinesh Karthikc MS Dhoni b Josh Hazlewood2611236.3631
Sunil NarineNOT OUT01000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 5, b 1, lb 1, pen 0)8
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)171


Lockie Ferguson ,Varun Chakaravarthy ,Prasidh Krishna

Deepak Chahar432088
Sam Curran4560145
Josh Hazlewood4402108
Shardul Thakur4202510
Ravindra Jadeja42115.255


1-10 (Gill, 0.6 ov) ,2-50 (Iyer, 5.1 ov) ,3-70 (Morgan, 9.1 ov) ,4-89 (Tripathi, 12.2 ov) ,5-125 (Russell, 16.4 ov) ,6-166 (Karthik, 19.4 ov)


(RUN RATE: 8.60)

Ruturaj Gaikwadc Eoin Morgan b Andre Russell4028142.8523
Faf du Plessisc Lockie Ferguson b Prasidh Krishna4330143.3370
Moeen Alic Venkatesh Iyer b Lockie Ferguson3228114.2821
Ambati Rayudub Sunil Narine109111.1110
Suresh Rainarun out (Rahul Tripathi/Varun Chakaravarthy)117157.1410
MS Dhonib Varun Chakaravarthy142500
Ravindra Jadejalbw Sunil Narine22827522
Sam Curranc sub (Kamlesh Nagarkoti) b Sunil Narine4410000
Shardul ThakurNOT OUT3215000
Deepak ChaharNOT OUT1110000
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 2, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)5
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)172


Josh Hazlewood

Prasidh Krishna441110.259
Lockie Ferguson43318.2510
Varun Chakaravarthy42215.59
Sunil Narine441310.257
Andre Russell32819.333
Venkatesh Iyer15052


1-74 (Gaikwad, 8.2 ov) ,2-102 (du Plessis, 11.3 ov) ,3-119 (Rayudu, 14.2 ov) ,4-138 (Ali, 16.4 ov) ,5-142 (Raina, 17.1 ov) ,6-142 (Dhoni, 17.3 ov) ,7-168 (Curran, 19.1 ov) ,8-171 (Jadeja, 19.5 ov)