Match 7: RR vs DC

Rajasthan Royals (RR) were successful in winning their first game of the season after beating the Delhi Capitals (DC) in Match 7 of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Thursday.

It was Manan Vohra and Jos Buttler who opened the innings for RR. While Vohra hit two consecutive boundaries off Chris Woakes after a couple of quiet overs at the start, the right-arm pacer dismissed the RR openers in the same over, guiding DC to the start they wanted. 

Further, the Royals were 52-5. After a couple of overs, Miller welcomed Marcus Stoinis into the attack with three boundaries in a row that sounded beautifully off the bat.

Tewatia, who had joined Miller in the middle after Riyan Parag’s fall, complimented Miller, scoring a couple of fours off Tom Curran in the 14th over, by forming an amazing partnership for the sixth wicket. 

With RR requiring 27 off the last 2 over. It was the 19th over that gave the momentum in RR’s favour as Morris clubbed two sixes off Rabada to bring down the target to 12 runs off the final over. Morris hit two sixes and helped RR get o to the line. 

Finally, with four overs to go, Curran and Woakes hit three boundaries and added 28 runs. R Ashwin on the other hand got run out in the same over after trying to sneak in a double with RR making a victory. 

Match Info:

Match:RR vs DC, 7th Match, Indian Premier League 2021

Date:Thursday, April 15, 2021

Toss:Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opt to bowl

Time:7:30 PM

Venue:Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Umpires:Anil Kumar Chaudhary, Sundaram Ravi

Third Umpire:Bruce Oxenford

Match Referee:Shakti Singh

Rajasthan Royals Squad:

Playing:Manan Vohra, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Shivam Dube, David Miller, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Chetan Sakariya, Jaydev Unadkat, Mustafizur Rahman

Bench:Shreyas Gopal, Andrew Tye, Liam Livingstone, KC Cariappa, Mahipal Lomror, Jofra Archer, Mayank Markande, Anuj Rawat, Kartik Tyagi, Kuldip Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Akash Singh

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Playing:Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Lalit Yadav, Kagiso Rabada, Tom Curran, Avesh Khan

Bench:Shimron Hetmyer, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Steven Smith, Sam Billings, Axar Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Praveen Dubey, Vishnu Vinod, Manimaran Siddharth, Ripal Patel


(RUN RATE: 7.35)

Prithvi Shawc David Miller b Jaydev Unadkat254000
Shikhar Dhawanc Sanju Samson b Jaydev Unadkat91181.8110
Ajinkya Rahanec & b Jaydev Unadkat8810010
Rishabh Pantrun out (Riyan Parag)5132159.3790
Marcus Stoinisc Jos Buttler b Mustafizur Rahman05000
Lalit Yadavc Rahul Tewatia b Chris Morris202483.3330
Tom Curranb Mustafizur Rahman2116131.2520
Chris WoakesNOT OUT1511136.3620
Ravichandran Ashwinrun out (David Miller/Sanju Samson)7417510
Kagiso RabadaNOT OUT9422510
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 5, b 0, lb 0, pen 0)5
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)147
DID NOT BAT:Avesh Khan
Chetan Sakariya43308.255
Jaydev Unadkat41533.7515
Chris Morris327197
Mustafizur Rahman42927.2511
Riyan Parag216083
Rahul Tewatia327096


1-5 (Shaw, 1.6 ov) ,2-16 (Dhawan, 3.1 ov) ,3-36 (Rahane, 5.5 ov) ,4-37 (Stoinis, 6.5 ov) ,5-88 (Pant, 12.4 ov) ,6-100 (Yadav, 14.5 ov) ,7-128 (Curran, 18.2 ov) ,8-136 (Ashwin, 18.6 ov)


(RUN RATE: 7.62)

Jos Buttlerc Rishabh Pant b Chris Woakes2728.5700
Manan Vohrac Kagiso Rabada b Chris Woakes91181.8120
Sanju Samsonc Shikhar Dhawan b Kagiso Rabada43133.3310
Shivam Dubec Shikhar Dhawan b Avesh Khan2728.5700
David Millerc Lalit Yadav b Avesh Khan6243144.1872
Riyan Paragc Shikhar Dhawan b Avesh Khan254000
Rahul Tewatiac Lalit Yadav b Kagiso Rabada1917111.7620
Chris MorrisNOT OUT361820004
Jaydev UnadkatNOT OUT117157.1401
EXTRAS(nb 0, w 1, b 0, lb 2, pen 0)3
TOTAL(7 wickets; 19.4 overs)150
DID NOT BAT:Chetan Sakariya ,Mustafizur Rahman
Chris Woakes42225.513
Avesh Khan4323811
Kagiso Rabada43027.512
Ravichandran Ashwin31404.665
Tom Curran3.43509.546
Marcus Stoinis1150150


1-13 (Vohra, 2.4 ov) ,2-13 (Buttler, 2.6 ov) ,3-17 (Samson, 3.3 ov) ,4-36 (Dube, 7.4 ov) ,5-42 (Parag, 9.2 ov) ,6-90 (Tewatia, 14.5 ov) ,7-104 (Miller, 15.5 ov)